Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2000, 11:27 AM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default corrupt audio files please help

what played fine last night is garbage today. I may have copied the file to another drive (and deleted the old one) but I think i played it after that. 24 bit 44.1 k files that used to sound like some hip licks on a strat now sound like the digital devil's evil roar. I have check all the copies of the file in the import dialog and they all sound like that. Is there anything I can do, or do I have to tell the best artist I have ever worked with that her tracks are gone, the morning after I worked with her for the first time? Please help. mix plus, 8.6, 5.0 thanks
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2000, 04:30 PM
BDWillis BDWillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 559
Default Re: corrupt audio files please help

This could also be a bit of disk allocation confusion — I experienced something similar recently!! Hopefully that's all it is, and this workaround will help.

Try this: In the finder, copy the rest of the session to the second drive, DON'T erase anything else off of the original drive, and use FWB mounter to UNMOUNT the original drive that the session had been created on. Then relaunch PT and open the session from the second drive. In midlaunch you should get a dialog asking you to confirm a new disk allocation, as the original drive is unavailable. When the session opens, the disk allocation should be to the new drive, and unless there is indeed a drive formatting problem, the session should play as normal. Good luck!!

Warmest Regards,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2000, 12:43 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,593
Default Re: corrupt audio files please help

This sounds like a drive issue to me. I have personally experienced inadequate drives throw out digital hash (noise) when playing back audio files.
-What format utility did you use to initialize and/or partition the drive?
-Have you tried copying the files back to the original drive and playing the suspect files?
-Do the waveforms look distorted when you zoom in?

In addition, reseat all your SCSI cables and make sure that the last device in the chain is properly terminated (active termination is preferred). Backup your data and reinitalize the drive and/or update its driver. We recommend either FWB Hard Disk Toolkit (v3.0.2 or later) or ATTO ExpressPro-Tools v2.3.2 applications.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2000, 12:41 AM
LCM LCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: B-ham, AL, USA
Posts: 41
Default Re: corrupt audio files please help

hello tom, i had a similar thing happen to me here in B-ham. However now i back up to 2 different extra drives every new important session, therefore the info is always in 3 drives. that is the way i was always to salvage asession. yet on another ocassion i tried importing the file from a good session copy. the result was terrible digital noise...
Also beware, i 've lost a couple of files that should have opened in the session. i was not even able to import them from backup files, however they played back well on the original session. These ALL were HH (hihat files)...
__________________
Music Production and Design
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2000, 01:42 PM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: corrupt audio files please help

something similar happened to me on the ONLY time I EVER recorded anything to ProTools without running a DAT at the same time. Completely toasted, useless noise instead of ADR. Looked fine in the track until I recalculated the waveforms and sure enough, it was **** . Had to bring the guy back in on his way to the airport and I don't have to tell you that he wasn't happy. Hopefully one of these other suggestions helped you.
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3 kava Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 156 05-24-2016 04:06 PM
corrupt audio files? active Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 08-12-2012 12:24 AM
corrupt audio files PT 9 Pro Logic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-16-2011 02:53 PM
Restore Corrupt Audio Files? U2502 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-24-2007 10:54 AM
Help needed with corrupt SDII audio files mikina Storage Subsystems 0 02-09-2001 05:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com