Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2010, 04:40 AM
kava kava is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vienna
Posts: 100
Default corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Hi all,

Im working on two sessions now where ProTools seems to damage recorded (not imported) audio-files after session closing,

which means: if I work in the session everything works fine, but after closing and reopening, some files are corrupt. ProTools cannot find these files anymore - but they are still in my audio files folder, but their icon has changed and they can't even be opened with quicktime or any other audio application (not even VLC or similar)

This happens randomly, any ideas?

Mac Pro 2x2.3 Quad-Core, 6GB Ram, OS X 10.6.2
ProTools 8.0.3, 1x HD Core PCI + 96 I/O

regards
kava
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2010, 05:13 AM
lode lode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 584
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Something similar happened to me monday. Turned out the disc was saying sayonara.
It was writing files that was the trouble for the disc, and after I swapped disc everything seems fine again.

PT recorded just fine, but playback of the recording made PT beachball.
I got no errormessages when reopening the session, but playback still didn´t work.

Not even Finder could read/copy the files that were corrupt.

It´s not exactly the same symptoms, but I would try switching the HDD.
__________________
PT 10.3 & 11
Mac 2x2.26 Ghz quadcore 6 gig ram
HDX 1 via Omni
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Waves Broadcast/Production, C4 & NPP
Izotope RX, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2010, 07:25 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,479
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by kava View Post
Hi all,

Im working on two sessions now where ProTools seems to damage recorded (not imported) audio-files after session closing,

which means: if I work in the session everything works fine, but after closing and reopening, some files are corrupt. ProTools cannot find these files anymore - but they are still in my audio files folder, but their icon has changed and they can't even be opened with quicktime or any other audio application (not even VLC or similar)

This happens randomly, any ideas?

Mac Pro 2x2.3 Quad-Core, 6GB Ram, OS X 10.6.2
ProTools 8.0.3, 1x HD Core PCI + 96 I/O

regards
kava
Hi,

I would start with trashing the prefs and database files. i think in SL the database file is only on the system drive in the applications/digidesign folder! maybe someone can confirm this?

This app will help you trash the prefs.... http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=190122


lode has a good point, it could be a drive? can you try starting a new session on another drive and see how that goes.
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2010, 12:36 AM
kava kava is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vienna
Posts: 100
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

thanks for your replies,

tried all this already when it happened the first time, harddisk seems to be o.k. - trashed prefs, database etc...

but it happened again, and I don't really want to reinstall...

greets
kava
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2010, 11:27 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by kava View Post
thanks for your replies,

tried all this already when it happened the first time, harddisk seems to be o.k. - trashed prefs, database etc...

but it happened again, and I don't really want to reinstall...

greets
kava
What icon are the files changing to?

As indicated above - this is highly likely due to a drive going bad. I would back up everything on that drive and erase it, then test again - but don't put any critical data on the drive, as it could fail at any time.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2010, 12:36 AM
kava kava is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vienna
Posts: 100
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

They change from new (snow leopard) black .aif/.wav icon to the "old" blue/white (itunes) .wav/aif logo...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2010, 01:41 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

I've heard something like this - is it possible these are being imported into iTunes for some reason? Or converted BY iTunes?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:36 AM
brad22589 brad22589 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

I was having the exact same issue last month... Started around the second week of April out of nowhere, and kept F#%*-ing with at least one audio file per day until I downloaded the 10.6.3 update. Now the problem has disappeared--knock on wood! (I'm still using the same exact 250GB Glyph drive, BTW). Weird that you guys are still having issues on 10.6.3 though...

This and the delay comp BS that keeps putting my audio in the wrong place [after it was performed perfectly!!!] is enough to make me wonder how anyone at Digi (AVID- excuse me) sleeps at night... how can you sell me a package for close to $20,000 that has these kinds of MAJOR issues???

I look like a real pro trying to explain to my clients that I need to spend 30 mins online and search some forums to find out why the magical take they just played is either completely gone or feels like it was played on muscle relaxers...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2010, 07:20 AM
inky inky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: hoboken, nj usa
Posts: 89
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

we are having the same problems and need a fix asap.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-16-2011, 11:31 PM
winvbass winvbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brighton UK
Posts: 14
Default

Rail, selfless heroics. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
corrupt audio files? active Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 08-12-2012 12:24 AM
corrupt audio files PT 9 Pro Logic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-16-2011 02:53 PM
Restore Corrupt Audio Files? U2502 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-24-2007 10:54 AM
Audio Files corrupt on FireWire drive sphereman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-21-2003 02:44 AM
corrupt audio files please help tomcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-05-2000 01:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com