Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-06-2023, 09:15 AM

Default Adding Playlist View to MIDI and Instrument Tracks

I have been a Pro Tools user for a long time and I am grateful for all of the recent improvements that have been added during the past few years. The new Melodyne integration is wonderful when it works.
I would like to submit a request to anyone reading from Avid to add playlist view to MIDI tracks. I know this has been mentioned before but it never seems to go too far.

Comping with MIDI would be a powerful additional feature for Pro Tools. I get frustrated when I create a drum track for a song. I approach a drum track using a hybrid process. Sometimes, I play a drum part straight thru recording the MIDI. But, many times when I’m writing I like to make a 4 bar clip that grooves then duplicate it for 4 minutes on the track. Then, go back and lay down the other instruments and vocals. I am sure that the majority of the Pro Tools songwriters out there use this method. After I record the basics of the song, I go back and add the drum fills to the appropriate parts. In Pro Tools this is a cumbersome process.

I use the MIDI Editor and imagine how I want the fill then spent time mouse clicking my way to something. Or, my preferred method is to play my Roland set during a playback, record the MIDI then grab the fills and merge them into the initial groove (fixing, quantizing etc.). Both methods are exhausting, a lot of work and I find myself losing my inspiration. Laying down a track when you are into it is really important to a musician.