Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2013, 04:16 AM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default White bursts of noise and I/O device error ?! HELP

Hey everyone,

I recently went back to listen to some old sessions I've done in the past, on an external drive I haven't used in awhile. For most of them, I was getting one of two issues happen:
a- I would get bursts of static noise, and some audio tracks would seem to "skip"
b- I would get the following error pop up: "DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or a firewire drive could be having trouble due to extra firewire bandwith or CPU upload"

I searched the forums here and while I couldn't seem to find that anyone had pinned this down to the exact issue (many people tried many different things, and some worked and some didn't).
On a few posts, I saw that some had suggested when they moved those files to a different drive, they worked for them. So I tried that with a few, and I think its working for the most part.

However, when I try to copy all of those old sessions now over to the new drive (if corrupt drive, get em backed up), everyone once in awhile it will get an error trying to drag a file (something as simple as one piece of vocal take for example) that says: cannot copy this file to drive. The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error. Oddly, it will just be one little audio take in the entire session that gets this issue, all others copy over no problem.

I notice this happened a couple of times when trying to PLAY a certain track from that old drive, something like that would pop up about an I/O error.

Does anyone have any idea what this would be? I've tried searching under I/O errors, etc ... but couldn't find anything similar.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

thanks
TDub

Running ProTools 8 on self built computer per PT specs (Asus PQ5; Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550; 4GB)
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2013, 05:37 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: White bursts of noise and I/O device error ?! HELP

Hi

You have to provide here a sisandra report...
Meanwhile you can trying copying the session to another drive, deleting the
Preferences and unitalling and updating video card drivers ..
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2013, 05:48 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: White bursts of noise and I/O device error ?! HELP

Clone it fast.

It sounds like there's a very good chance that drive is failing.

At least copy the files somewhere else as a precaution.

Knowing the exact IO message would help.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2013, 06:37 AM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: White bursts of noise and I/O device error ?! HELP

Thanks guys.
Sunburst, the exact error just said: "Cannot copy scratch voc_10 to drive. The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error." That's the exact message, no number or anything.

Here is the sandra report. Thanks again guys for helping ...

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : na-72729acceefa
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : OEM System Product Name
Serial Number : System Ser**********
Chassis : Desktop
Mainboard : ASUS P5Q-PRO
Serial Number : MS1C8BB********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 1406 10/02/2008
Total Memory : 3.5GB DIMM DDR2 DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz (4C 2.83GHz, 2x 6MB L2)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA (Socket T)

Chipset
Memory Controller : ASUS P45/P43/G45/G43 DRAM Controller 4x 333MHz (1.33GHz), 2x 2GB DIMM DDR2 DDR3 800MHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Corsair CM2X2048-8500C5 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-8500U DDR2-1066 (5-5-5-18 3-23-6-3)
Memory Module : Corsair CM2X2048-8500C5 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-8500U DDR2-1066 (5-5-5-18 3-23-6-3)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : ACR Acer E191W
(1600x1200, 19.1")
Monitor/Panel : VQ@ Lcd monitor

(1600x1200, 18.9")
Video Adapter : RADEON 7000 / RADEON VE Family (Microsoft Corporation) (VS1.1, 64MB, PCI)
Video Adapter : RADEON 7000 / RADEON VE Family (Microsoft Corporation) (VS1.1, 64MB, PCI)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Seagate ST3250410AS (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 16MB Cache) : 233GB (C:) (E:) (F:)
Initio WD3200AAJB-00TYA (320.1GB, FireWire/1394/ATA, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 298GB (L:)
Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 (2TB, FireWire/1394/SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 2TB (G:) (H:) (I:) (J:) (K:)
Generic Flash Disk (8.4GB, USB2) : 8GB (M:)
TSSTcorpCDDVDW SH-S222L (RAID, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 118GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3250410AS (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 16MB Cache)
PT Onboard (E:) : 57GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3250410AS (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 16MB Cache)
MEDIA (F:) : 58GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3250410AS (250GB, SATA300, 3.5", 16MB Cache)
Nxstar PT (L:) : 298GB (NTFS) @ Initio WD3200AAJB-00TYA (320.1GB, FireWire/1394/ATA, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Gmax 1 TB (G:) : 1TB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 (2TB, FireWire/1394/SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Gmax 2 (H:) : 59GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 (2TB, FireWire/1394/SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
G3 PT (I:) : 208GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 (2TB, FireWire/1394/SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
G4 PT Vids (J:) : 247GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 (2TB, FireWire/1394/SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Gmax 5 (K:) : 293GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 (2TB, FireWire/1394/SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ TSSTcorpCDDVDW SH-S222L (RAID, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)
Floppy Disk (A:) : N/A
Removable Drive (M:) : 8GB (FAT32) @ Generic Flash Disk (8.4GB, USB2)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T0 A5-13
Audio Device : ASUS HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi 888 High Definition Audio
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : ASUS 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS 6121 SATA2 Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : ASUS USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : ASUS USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Avlab Technology TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 2 : ASUS IEEE 1394a Firewire Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Network Services
Network Adapter : Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E Ethernet Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2013, 07:25 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: White bursts of noise and I/O device error ?! HELP

Did you tried swapping the FW driver into legacy ?

Are you recording to a Drive partition ? I think this can cause problems if so ..

Again.... try uninstalling the video driver and updating it...

hope this help !
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2013, 07:42 AM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: White bursts of noise and I/O device error ?! HELP

Thanks Jeam.
Not sure what you mean by swapping the firewire drive to legacy?

Not recording to a drive partition. That external drive is just one big drive, I never partitioned it.

For the video driver, I am admittedly not knowledgeable on this ... is this my computers video driver, or a specific video driver for pro tools?
How would a video driver affect a pt wav file having to do with I/O's? (not questioning you, more curious to learn : )
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2013, 07:51 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: White bursts of noise and I/O device error ?! HELP

Ok sorry i was seeing in the wrong place for the hard drive...

For the firewire ...in device manager you have to select the FW
adapter then update the driver...from there you will see the option of the legacy driver ..

And for the video question ..i had that problem sometimes and everytime
it was cause bt the video driver...dont be surprise ...

If you are new ...youre gonna see wierd things around here that cause Protols to fail and that PT its a stange wild beast .....so just try every suggestion !
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-2013, 08:27 AM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: White bursts of noise and I/O device error ?! HELP

Lol! Will do. I will try this later today and let you know how it went. Fingers crossed.

I wonder if those using Mac's get as many issues? If not, I may have to upgrade someday soon!
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-04-2013, 04:24 PM
TDub TDub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: White bursts of noise and I/O device error ?! HELP

Ah sorry, I still don't understand: updating video driver, is that a computer driver? Or is it a specific driver for pro tools? I'm not sure how to update it.

Also, since those always worked before, and nothing has changed with the pt files or my video drivers, why it would start messing up.

Oh well ... if you can let me know how I update that, would be great.

thanks again!
__________________
TDub

Digi002 R with Command 8 - PTLE 8.03
Intel Quad Q9550
Asus P5Q Pro
Win XP
4GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-04-2013, 06:34 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: White bursts of noise and I/O device error ?! HELP

Ok in your Device manager ..go to your video adapter and uninstaller then
go to the ATI website and download the lastest version and install it !
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White noise bursts gemada Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 6 06-20-2011 12:51 PM
PT9 White Noise Bursts therecordinghouse Pro Tools 9 1 11-19-2010 10:12 AM
White Noise Bursts in PT9 mattytoldhatty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-15-2010 05:35 PM
Bursts of white noise Danielle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 01-24-2004 06:30 AM
White Noise Bursts with 6.1.1 LE M BOX jamieoliver 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-03-2003 10:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com