Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-11-2012, 11:42 AM

Smile track Freeze in PT

A fluent user of Ableton live, i'm new with Pro tools after a friend of mine very active in major musical events and owner of one of the best recording studio in Montreal stated that PT was the de facto standard in pro audio.
I started using it for about a week and despite the fact that the interface is somehow sometimes disturbing, I can get around it and use it to get to where I need it to go, but, I was wondering... Is there a ''Freeze track'' option somewhere?, If not can we get around to more or less to the same result?
Anybody can help me on this one?
Thank you
Old 12-11-2012, 12:00 PM

Default Re: track Freeze in PT

Though it's not a "feature," per se, it can be, and is certainly recommended, to conserve CPU power.

Creat a new audio track. Set it's input to a bus (say Bus 1-2 if it's stereo). Then, on your instrument track, set the output to the same bus (1-2). Arm the audio track and hit record.

HP Pavilion P6000, AMD Athlon II X2 240 (2.8GHz), FOXCONN 2AB1 MoBo, 16GB DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS, Two WD Caviar Black Internal500 gig, One WD External 300 Gig, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit, SD2, Metal Foundry, Focusrite Saffire 6, PT 9.03 (stable), Gibson Les Paul Studio (Drop D), Fender Tele (nashville tuning), hand built Carvin Bolt (finished!)
Old 12-11-2012, 12:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbbkink View Post
A fluent user of Ableton live, i'm new with Pro tools after a friend of mine very active in major musical events and owner of one of the best recording studio in Montreal stated that PT was the de facto standard in pro audio.