Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-05-2015, 04:13 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Pt12 memory

Oops! Good catch Dave, I intended to get across that 32 GB or more is a good amount but I should have verified his Mobo specs first. Moreso about 16GB being the bare minimum for using resource-hungry stuff like Kontakt and PLAY engine.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-05-2015, 04:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Pt12 memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Oops! Good catch Dave, I intended to get across that 32 GB or more is a good amount but I should have verified his Mobo specs first. Moreso about 16GB being the bare minimum for using resource-hungry stuff like Kontakt and PLAY engine.
I'm with ya 100%. It will be interesting to hear back on how this rig runs. Some of these slightly older workstations are a bargain
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-05-2015, 04:36 PM
Michael Zull Michael Zull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 249
Default Re: Pt12 memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
3x8(or 6x4)=24.....better
6x8=48.....much better
Good call, start with the 3x8 for 24 gigs, see how the memory usage is looking in your sessions, and when need be, double it up to 48
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-05-2015, 05:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Pt12 memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Zull View Post
Good call, start with the 3x8 for 24 gigs, see how the memory usage is looking in your sessions, and when need be, double it up to 48
I would agree for a single CPU, but this is a dual setup and I think each set of 3 slots are dedicated to one CPU, which means the best bet will be to fill them up right away
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-06-2015, 04:42 PM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: Pt12 memory

Hey guys, thanks for all the input! Very grateful indeed.

Leslie
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-06-2015, 05:00 PM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: Pt12 memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I would agree for a single CPU, but this is a dual setup and I think each set of 3 slots are dedicated to one CPU, which means the best bet will be to fill them up right away
Would have been happier with the latest tech, but Xeons are expensive, and I'm getting these for $154 each, with an extended 3 year warranty.

BTW, Dave, how's your 3920k performing? any trouble at all with CPU spikes etc? How stable is PT12?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-06-2015, 07:40 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Pt12 memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
Would have been happier with the latest tech, but Xeons are expensive, and I'm getting these for $154 each, with an extended 3 year warranty.

BTW, Dave, how's your 3920k performing? any trouble at all with CPU spikes etc? How stable is PT12?
Actually its a 3930K 6 core and its the most amazing PT rig I have ever worked on
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-06-2015, 08:23 PM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: Pt12 memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Actually its a 3930K 6 core and its the most amazing PT rig I have ever worked on
Sorry,typo. Do you drive it very hard? Do you think my proposed dual xeon can give me equivalent performance?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-07-2015, 03:30 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Pt12 memory

Personally I wouldn't bother with anything less than a X99 Mobo chipset for PT11 & 12, Coupled with SSD's & 32GB DDR4 RAM, Hex core i7 CPU.

It'll get any job done....and then some!

Throwing money at an older motherboard/chipset is a waste IMHO. Better to save a bit longer and get a far better platform, it'll end up cheaper in the long run.

Believe me, the above specs eat Pro Tools and hungry VI's for breakfast . The only way to get better performance out of Pro Tools on this platform is to have better software.....as well as 64GB DDR4 RAM
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro

Last edited by zedhed; 06-07-2015 at 05:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-08-2015, 03:23 PM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: Pt12 memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedhed View Post
Personally I wouldn't bother with anything less than a X99 Mobo chipset for PT11 & 12, Coupled with SSD's & 32GB DDR4 RAM, Hex core i7 CPU.

It'll get any job done....and then some!

Throwing money at an older motherboard/chipset is a waste IMHO. Better to save a bit longer and get a far better platform, it'll end up cheaper in the long run.

Believe me, the above specs eat Pro Tools and hungry VI's for breakfast . The only way to get better performance out of Pro Tools on this platform is to have better software.....as well as 64GB DDR4 RAM
Zedhed, not to argue with you, and I realize the importance of a future-proof system, but please check this out.

I quote his comments here:
This computer is so stable it isn't funny. Previously, we were using an Asus P9X79 Pro and Intel 3630k OCed to 4.5 GHz. The speed is similar, but this build does not crash or freeze.

This isn't the only build I've read about that uses these components (mostly in mac forums). What impresses me most is the reports of rock-solid stability associated with these server builds. Besides, it's not very expensive What do you think? I notice you're using a 5930k. Is there a huge difference between that and the 3930k?

Last edited by lesbrunn; 06-08-2015 at 05:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT12 and PT12 HD surround? theom Pro Tools 12 17 10-12-2015 09:27 AM
Kontakt Memory Server (KMS) Could not start MemoryServer. Memory Extension will be... John_Toolbox Virtual Instruments 5 12-29-2011 10:03 AM
MEMORY ERROR MESSAGES- Strange memory loss hwill2008 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-23-2010 08:14 AM
Will PC2700 memory work in PC2100 memory slot? dfusion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-08-2004 09:30 AM
Promting lack of memory on PC with adequate memory! Any tips? will22 Digidesign Hardware & Software 12 09-20-2001 08:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com