Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #221  
Old 05-04-2020, 01:21 AM
Nico Berthold Nico Berthold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 17
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Good to hear.

Definitely a contender! They seem to have got very Mac friendly of late.
https://www.highpoint-tech.com/USA_n..._solutions.htm


Definitely!!

Got a Highpoint 7101 with 4x 970 Evos in my Mac 7.1 and getting R/W speeds of roughly 8000mb/sec
Reply With Quote
  #222  
Old 05-04-2020, 01:29 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 937
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico Berthold View Post
Definitely!!

Got a Highpoint 7101 with 4x 970 Evos in my Mac 7.1 and getting R/W speeds of roughly 8000mb/sec
Definitely faster than my OWC Accelsior 4M2 (4x1T)!
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old 05-04-2020, 03:10 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico Berthold View Post
Definitely!!

Got a Highpoint 7101 with 4x 970 Evos in my Mac 7.1 and getting R/W speeds of roughly 8000mb/sec
Cool! How is the fan? Are you using the HighPoint driver?
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old 05-04-2020, 07:09 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 937
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Not sure if I posted this before, but this article has some good information on PCIe slot configuration on the new Mac Pro.

https://softron.zendesk.com/hc/en-us...r-2019-Mac-Pro

Contrary to Avid's advice, I elected to install my SSD in slot 3, so it has a dedicated path to the CPU, and UAD and HDX cards in slots 4-7 which are automatically allocated to Pool A. That leaves Pool B free for Thunderbolt devices.

It seems to work well, although Pro Tools occasionally complained it can't find the audio interfaces. But this happened before I moved the cards around.
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old 05-04-2020, 11:14 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
Not sure if I posted this before, but this article has some good information on PCIe slot configuration on the new Mac Pro.

https://softron.zendesk.com/hc/en-us...r-2019-Mac-Pro

Contrary to Avid's advice, I elected to install my SSD in slot 3, so it has a dedicated path to the CPU, and UAD and HDX cards in slots 4-7 which are automatically allocated to Pool A. That leaves Pool B free for Thunderbolt devices.

It seems to work well, although Pro Tools occasionally complained it can't find the audio interfaces. But this happened before I moved the cards around.
Good stuff thanks Luke.

I think this was mentioned earlier in the thread but Avid needs to look at the slot configuration info here.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/c...-Configuration
My slot 2 is going to be blocked with a double wide GPU!

If I remember correctly the HDX card is x4 lanes so it seems a shame to waste a x16 slot with it.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #226  
Old 05-04-2020, 11:24 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 937
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Good stuff thanks Luke.

I think this was mentioned earlier in the thread but Avid needs to look at the slot configuration info here.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/c...-Configuration
My slot 2 is going to be blocked with a double wide GPU!

If I remember correctly the HDX card is x4 lanes so it seems a shame to waste a x16 slot with it.
Oh yes, and I can confirm you definitely don’t need a 10” SATA cable to connect the cards! The shortest one I could fine was 10cm, shorter would be better but so be it.
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old 05-04-2020, 11:30 PM
Nico Berthold Nico Berthold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 17
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Cool! How is the fan? Are you using the HighPoint driver?
Highpoint Driver yes, I am not really sure if you can even use the card without it,
especially since you manage the raid over their software.
The fan is not much of an issue for me, as I have a machine room, so I can really tell.

hope this helps....
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old 05-16-2020, 07:49 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico Berthold View Post
Highpoint Driver yes, I am not really sure if you can even use the card without it,
especially since you manage the raid over their software.
The fan is not much of an issue for me, as I have a machine room, so I can really tell.

hope this helps....
I went with the Sonnet m.2 4x4 in the end. Apparently you can use the Highpoint card without a driver but lose control over the fans which is quite loud it seems. What swung the Sonnet for me is that there's no driver.

I can report that the fan in the Sonnet is pretty quiet. My 16 core is underneath my workstation at the moment and I couldn't hear it was on before I put the Sonnet in! Now the Sonnet is installed I can just hear it's fan but personally I think I can live with it, Blackmagic Speedtest has been running for three hours and the fan hasn't ramped up at all. Not put myHDX card in yet so the only fan noise is coming from the Sonnet. Stood 6 feet away it's

Speaking of Speedtest - with four Samsung 970 Evo Plus drives on the Sonnet- Four drives RAID 0 = up to 8500MB/s reads, 7300Mbs writes
Three drives RAID 0 = 6857MB/s r, 6442MB/s w
One Drive non RAID = 3047MB/s r, 3102MB/s r

Geekbench with 384GB RAM (6x64GB):
Single - 1173
Multi-core - 15659

At the moment I'm thinking of spreading my Kontakt libraries across three individual volumes which is how I've previously done it. Seems a shame to lose a third of the Sonnet's potential performance for the sake of one large volume.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old 05-16-2020, 07:56 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 664
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
At the moment I'm thinking of spreading my Kontakt libraries across three individual volumes which is how I've previously done it. Seems a shame to lose a third of the Sonnet's potential performance for the sake of one large volume.
Why not go with all four in a RAID 0? you get all the storage space and the fastest speed? That speed test result is ridiculously fast.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old 05-16-2020, 09:26 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
Why not go with all four in a RAID 0? you get all the storage space and the fastest speed? That speed test result is ridiculously fast.
My thinking is streaming samples from four drives concurrently will be faster -
4x 3000MB/s vs 1 x 8000MB/s. Although most of my sample libraries are Kontakt some are not and work better streaming off their own drive. In this case it would mean I'd have a RAID 0 over three drives for Kontakt and the fourth for other libraries.

I'm adding a 5th NVMe m.2 for Pro Tools audio.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com