Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2004, 04:43 PM
greytail greytail is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Default Editing interviews for radio broadcast

Where can I find tutorials on using Pro tools to edit radio interviews for radio broadcast?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2004, 02:07 AM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,657
Default Re: Editing interviews for radio broadcast

Radio interviews, are audio, just like music, or anything else you could record and as a result edit, in pro tools.

Lots of great basic tips in the user guide, or Surf around Here

Good Luck
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2004, 09:22 AM
greytail greytail is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Default Re: Editing interviews for radio broadcast

Hi:
Your link did NOT help me! I am looking for basic info such as how to play a clip from a specific point in the time line, how to scrub effectively through the timeline etc. I have used the speaker icon to do this, but it is awkward and whenever I want to play a clip from an edit point, Pro Tools keeps going back to the beginning of the whole clip. When I scrub with the speaker there seems no way of marking an IN point or an OUT point. It is questions such as these that I am looking for answer to!

greytail
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2004, 09:31 AM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: Editing interviews for radio broadcast

Try reading the (free downloadable PDF) manual.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2004, 04:05 PM
greytail greytail is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Default Re: Editing interviews for radio broadcast

Yes, I tried read the manual. It doesn't answer my basic questions and there is very little on the web that I can find on this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2004, 04:15 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: Editing interviews for radio broadcast

I'm talking about these manuals,. If you can't find basic information in those, you need a new career my friend.

Read about the trimmertool for starters.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-08-2004, 08:15 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Editing interviews for radio broadcast

Everyone uses PT just a little differently. There is a steep learning curve.
But it all starts here
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2004, 08:19 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Editing interviews for radio broadcast

Here are some good resources.
But you will still need to read.

Here's a place you won't need to read.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2004, 11:09 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,234
Default Re: Editing interviews for radio broadcast

Quote:
I am looking for basic info such as how to play a clip from a specific point in the time line, how to scrub effectively through the timeline etc. I have used the speaker icon to do this, but it is awkward and whenever I want to play a clip from an edit point, Pro Tools keeps going back to the beginning of the whole clip. When I scrub with the speaker there seems no way of marking an IN point or an OUT point. It is questions such as these that I am looking for answer to!

http://www.digidesign.com/support/do...ence_Guide.pdf
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2004, 10:48 AM
Qburn Qburn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: SF/SJ CA area
Posts: 60
Default Re: Editing interviews for radio broadcast

Hello greytail, please permit me to take a stab at some of your concerns. I edit 30's & 60's all day & I'm assuming you're editing sessions of program length, so some of this may not apply to you. I don't know what version you are using, I've used 3, 4 & 6, so I have no experience with v5.x. Remember that there is no one 'best' way to do something in PT, only the one that works 'best' for you.

I work exclusively from templates. So figure out how you want your session to look, what zoom levels you need, track names, what music & sfx you need loaded in what tracks at what volume levels, what plug ins & their settings, that sort of thing. Save and create a 'stationary pad'(by clicking on the session icon in the finder and selecting 'get info'-command I. Then every day/week/time you go to record your program you won't need to build your session.

Quote:
I am looking for basic info such as how to play a clip from a specific point in the time line,
Use markers for this,(keypad # enter to define, Keypad # decimal point to recall)

Quote:
how to scrub effectively through the timeline etc. I have used the speaker icon to do this, but it is awkward
Try using the selector tool, while holding down control+option, the selector turns into the scrubber then changes back to the selector when you let go of control+option. You probably also know that the trim tool has scrub options(v.6).

Quote:
and whenever I want to play a clip from an edit point, Pro Tools keeps going back to the beginning of the whole clip.
The tab key moves right to each edit. Option tab goes left. In v.6, turn off the tab to transients button.

Quote:
When I scrub with the speaker there seems no way of marking an IN point or an OUT point.
Use the selector tool as described above, stop at your in point, make a marker, repeat this for your out point. Remember when scrubbing, the zoom level affects the resolution of your scrub.

Your terminology leads me to belive that you may have some experience with SAW or some other such editor. PT does not require you to mark in & out points to make an edit. Just highlight a region with the selector tool and hit backspace & you've made your edit. If you want to save that edited region for later then choose capture region or separate region from the edit menu before deleting.

Read the docs listed by the other posters & have fun with PT!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set up a live audio feed for a radio broadcast novellorecording Windows 3 05-09-2012 10:13 AM
Recording and Editing Interviews - Need Advice Please JCWarrior Tips & Tricks 2 07-14-2007 04:21 PM
Mic for Radio Broadcast and an Audio Book? Kustoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-23-2005 10:49 PM
radio editing Xone Tips & Tricks 2 08-24-2005 03:52 PM
Recording Telephone Interviews for broadcast JPS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 03-06-2005 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com