Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-21-2016, 05:17 PM

Default Upgrading to PT12 from 10, worried about plugs/sessions

I've searched the community for answers, but haven't found any. Please excuse this post if it is addressed somewhere else.

I have an EP I have been working on for a few years. I am in the mixing phase now but it is comprised of dozens of audio tracks and MIDI tracks per song, with complicated automation and many plug ins. I bought my upgrade from PT10 to 12 in December, but I am afraid to upgrade until this EP is finished, but I am also anxious to upgrade and don't want to rush the mix.

I am wondering if my sessions will be fine in PT12. Plug ins are mostly standard Avid RTAS, like Vacuum and etc, but I am also using EZ Drummer, SSL 4000 Waves collection and many others. I assume that as long as all my plugs can be upgraded to AAX then I should be fine running these same sessions in 12. Right?

Also, I read somewhere that you can run PT10 somehow inside PT12, like a shell or something to avoid these kind of issues? Any ideas? When I talked to Avid online they said I wont have any problems, but I really can not jeopardize the sessions.

Is there any kind of compatibility program I can run on sessions to let me know?

Thanks for any help.
JWW
Old 03-21-2016, 05:41 PM

Default Re: Upgrading to PT12 from 10, worried about plugs/sessions

Quote:
I am wondering if my sessions will be fine in PT12. Plug ins are mostly standard Avid RTAS, like Vacuum and etc, but I am also using EZ Drummer, SSL 4000 Waves collection and many others. I assume that as long as all my plugs can be upgraded to AAX then I should be fine running these same sessions in 12. Right?