How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-23-2013, 03:33 PM

Default Strangest Behaviour!

Hello there,

I'm a relative novice with Pro Tools 10 and I've used it pretty much fine for a few months now except i ran into a very perplexing problem which is really starting to annoy me and make working utterly impossible.

Whenever I change the grid value on the transport bar (eg. 1/16, 1/4 etc) it seems to change MIDI playback speed, but ONLY MIDI! At 1/16 everything plays at normal speed, at 1/8 everything is double timed, at 1/4 tripled, at 1/32 it is halved.... what on earth is going on?? The song audio plays fine it's just midi! And thats not all... it also accordingly shifts all the midi to the right or left depending on if you change the grid value up or down! Ever since this started happening i've also noticed that when i rewire into reason, anything I put into the reason sequencer seems to just move around at random, often by several bars at a time...MADDENING!

I uninstalled Pro Tools (i had to install the 10.3.4 update anyway) and it hasn't changed it....what should I do?

Thanks very much!
Old 04-23-2013, 03:49 PM

Default Re: Strangest Behaviour!

This is how it should work.... Midi is following that tempo grid... when you change the grid you move the midi notes.... It has always worked that way. I do believe you can switch the midi to ticks or something similar and it will not move with the grid or maybe it is changing from ticks to samples... can't remember, I do know that changing the audio tracks from samples to ticks will allow you to change the audio clip tempo.. someone who deals more heavily with Midi in Pro Tools could probably tell you exactly how to do that.