Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2006, 09:02 AM
Cawbaby Cawbaby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 174
Default Trouble installing PT7.0

OK, get this. I've tried 3 different drives, erased them and freshly installed OS 10.4. I've tried this several times on 2 of these drives. I got PT 7.0 to install only twice without freezing. It always freezes with 397 files remaining to install. When I update to 7.1cs4, after the 2 times I was successful installing PT 7.0 the installer freezes with 396 files remaining to be installed. I've put Toast, Jam, Quickeys, and probably 4 or 5 additional small apps on these drives with no problem but the Pro Tools installer freezes. I thought it might be the actual CD install disc so digi sent me a digidelivery disc image and I installed from there. It froze for a few seconds at 397 files installedbut then sqeeked by and loaded. Then of course 7.1cs4 froze.
Anyway after I force quit the installer the amount USED in the info of the start-up drive continues to grow. So I'm forced to erase HD and start over.
Anybody have any ideas. Tech support appears to be tapped but I will try them again.
thanx
Craig

10.4.3 G4 dual 1.25 2G ram
__________________
Dr. Caw Recording
www.drcaw.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2006, 11:39 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,766
Default Re: Trouble installing PT7.0

I would recommend trying to install from a new admin account. We've seen this a couple times before and installing from a different admin account seems to fix the problem.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2006, 11:57 AM
Cawbaby Cawbaby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 174
Default Re: Trouble installing PT7.0

Thanx, but I did try this and it did load PT 7.0 but failed on the 7.1cs4 update. Thanx for the response, it's nice to see people concerned.
__________________
Dr. Caw Recording
www.drcaw.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help, I have trouble installing my HD2 on my Mac OS X juanpastudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-29-2012 02:20 PM
trouble installing matte81 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-31-2010 09:32 AM
trouble installing 7.4 LE on xp rpacheco6 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-03-2009 02:06 AM
Trouble installing the ilok HELP! neversleep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-08-2007 09:47 AM
Trouble installing PT 5.3.1 Dave Steinwedel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-06-2003 02:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com