Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-20-2007, 11:08 AM

Default clearing unused regions/disk space

i am working on a new macbook pro with protools 7 and an 003.

i have a huge sound library and now am running out of disk space when i go to record vocals and get error messages to make me delete other files to make space to record.

i am new to Pro tools and have 2 questions.

#1-
I previously used DP, and when cutting vocals in DP, I would hit "apple z" after a take I didn't want to keep, which i have done in protools, but i just discovered that this hasn't been deleting these files from the hard disk, only the pro tools session. how do I make it to where "Apple Z" deletes that take from the hard drive? I have searched the manual and come up empty.

#2-
When I finish recording a vocal (I use playlists) and have numerous playlists on numerous tracks, I comp the vocal and use several different takes from each playlist to form the comp.