Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2010, 05:36 AM
rainerpuschner rainerpuschner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 42
Default Core Audio Manager 10.6 with Logic

I´m trying to setup an working environment for 10.6 with logic using Core Audio Manager for my HD2 and second Coreaudio interface for having 8 inputs and many outputs.

To use a Core Audio Driver in Logic, you can only select one interface at the time in Logic. So to work with 2 interfaces you have to create a virtual device (in my case the HD System using CAM and a MOTU 24i/o).

The Problem: I can see the CAM Interface in logic and play out using logic to the HD CAM-managed Interface with no problem, but i cannot build this virtual device in Audio Midi Setup, because the CAM device is not shown there when using the device manager... is this normal?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2010, 05:46 AM
rainerpuschner rainerpuschner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 42
Default Re: Core Audio Manager 10.6 with Logic

nobody has this problem?

I just want to add a Core Audio Manager managed Interface to Audio Midi Setup to join with a MOTU 24i/o to use my HD2 as 8 input/8output and the 24i/o for output only... This ist just for logic use, where i never want to go TDM AND CoreAudio at the same time!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2010, 06:18 AM
TheHopiWay TheHopiWay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW USA
Posts: 70
Default Re: Core Audio Manager 10.6 with Logic

It's my understanding that the digi core audio driver does not allow for creation of an aggregate device.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2010, 07:53 AM
rainerpuschner rainerpuschner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 42
Default Re: Core Audio Manager 10.6 with Logic

Why is that? Any documentation on this?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2010, 09:12 AM
TheHopiWay TheHopiWay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW USA
Posts: 70
Default Re: Core Audio Manager 10.6 with Logic

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainerpuschner View Post
Why is that? Any documentation on this?
I have no idea why, though I suspect it has to do with Digi's proprietary business model.
I tried to do it myself with a 192 interface and a MOTU 2408 III.

I can't remember who gave me the heads up that it was futile. It's all a distant memory as I've had a nap since then.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2010, 12:28 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,611
Default Re: Core Audio Manager 10.6 with Logic

That's correct - we don't support aggregate devices. Long story short - TDM simply can't work that way. Sorry!
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 8/Core Audio Manager audiobob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-26-2009 02:30 PM
Core Audio Manager noisepatrol Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-23-2009 01:02 PM
Problems with Core Audio Manager David Herman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-19-2008 07:44 AM
Core Audio Manager Problems xxopexx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-15-2007 02:09 PM
Core Audio manager... HW is use. Seeee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-08-2005 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com