Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-24-2003, 09:14 PM

Default Newbie Question: Output Level for Acoustic Blues

Hey guys,
I'm sorry if this might be the wrong place to post this, but it seemed like this forum got the most traffic so I thought I'd give it a shot. Also, I'm very new to working with a "real" system. I've been mixing my own stuff at home for a couple of years now, but know I'm getting to use some serious equipment and I'm trying to do the best job possible.

I'm working on some Acoustic Blues style material and I wanted to bring up the overall output level so I can get a decent volume on CD. I know I could just compress the mess out of it, but the material standing well the way it is so I don't want to alter it too much. Also, I could raise the Master Fader into the plus regions, but since I'm new to Pro Tools, I don't know if there are any drawbacks to that. I'm guessing noise level is the biggest problem with either route.

I guess my question is, what's the best way to raise the average signal level without comprimising the material? I'd appreciate any help you guys would like to give. Thanks, have a good evening, peace out.
Old 10-25-2003, 04:21 PM

Default Re: Newbie Question: Output Level for Acoustic Blues

Bump.
Old 10-25-2003, 09:14 PM

Default Re: Newbie Question: Output Level for Acoustic Blu

Stevie,