Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2004, 08:06 AM
underground underground is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 96
Default Setting up reverb

I'm trying to find out if this is true, I'm at work right now so I can't try it. I heard that reverb should have a stero output, such as bussing a vocal track to a stero aux track, placing a reverb in the aux track. I s this true?

Is there a difference in having a stereo aux track as oppose to a mono aux track?
Should a mono reverb be use for a mono send, stero reverb for a stero send?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2004, 08:35 AM
DesertDude DesertDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,669
Default Re: Setting up reverb

natural reverberations are 3D left/right, up/down, close/far a stereo channel of reverb will get you close

__________________
DesertDude

1.25 Alu/1.5 ram/10.3.4
PTLE 6.4-002R-Live-Reason
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2004, 09:30 AM
underground underground is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 96
Default Re: Setting up reverb

So you're saying you should use a stereo output for reverb on a mono signal?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2004, 09:43 AM
RinnyTin RinnyTin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 365
Default Re: Setting up reverb

If want to be able to pan the send, yes, you have to send it on a stereo buss, then return the reverb on a stereo aux channel. So even if the source track is mono, let's say it's a guitar and you have the track panned to the left, you may want the reverb send also panned to the left, or you may want it panned to the opposite side, or whatever. Either way, you need to send on a stereo buss, it'll give you more flexibility.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2004, 10:07 AM
DesertDude DesertDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,669
Default Re: Setting up reverb

yes, I am saying mono signal in-> to stereo reverb
__________________
DesertDude

1.25 Alu/1.5 ram/10.3.4
PTLE 6.4-002R-Live-Reason
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2004, 10:14 AM
BenTerry BenTerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 24
Default Re: Setting up reverb

You want to depending on what you're doing send out a mono send in to a reverb device then go out stereo back into an aux channel. So, no you don't need a stereo send. For a good sense of spaciousness you need to have you reverbs set to different areas of your stereo spectrum. Otherwise you could have a beautifully dimensional mix but all of your reverb returns would all be dead center in mono which will cloud the open feeling that comes with a good spacious recording.
__________________
Ben Terry
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2004, 10:46 AM
underground underground is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 96
Default Re: Setting up reverb

Okay, would you recommend sending a vocal track to a stereo aux track for reverb?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2004, 10:58 AM
RinnyTin RinnyTin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 365
Default Re: Setting up reverb

If the vocal is panned to center, sending it on a mono buss or a stereo buss panned to center will yield the same result, equal amounts sent to left and right. The aux return should be stereo in either case.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2004, 05:44 AM
underground underground is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 96
Default Re: Setting up reverb

Got it! Thanx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up an external reverb for Recording on the 003 xx1messxx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-07-2009 09:44 AM
Reverb setting for hip hop snare Muzik77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-12-2002 07:59 PM
Reverb setting for hip hop snare Muzik77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-12-2002 07:36 PM
Reverb setting for hip hop snare Muzik77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-12-2002 07:27 PM
About to sell PCM91 in favuor of Ren Reverb-Reverb One - is this a mistake? hokuspocus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 04-15-2002 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com