Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2003, 09:15 PM
rebel peasant rebel peasant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 13
Default Nvidia twin display on their Mac anyone?

I'm using the Mac 886 Quicksilver (Single Peocessor) with the Nvidia G4 MX 2 / Twin Display graphics card. I'm trying to hook up 2 monitors for ease of use editing/viewing with Pro-Tools. One side of the card is VGA the other ADC. I've used the adapter ADC to VGA so that I can have 2 VGA monitors. All I can get is the video mirroring to work. I realy want the extended desktop so I can separate the views.
In case it matters, I'm using OS 9.2.1 only.
Has anyone run into this, and if so, what are my options? I'm praying to the Mac gods that this will work and it's only something simple.
I'd appreciate any advice.
__________________
More wine!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2003, 04:23 AM
guitates guitates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Toluca Lake, Ca 91610
Posts: 1,196
Default Re: Nvidia twin display on their Mac anyone?

Why would anyone go VGA?? when they could go ADC ??

Try 1 ADC and 1 VCA to ADC adaptor... [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
I Seek the Holy Light...
Isaiah 40:31
72 Strat with single 2-Blade pickup
PTLE 10.3 LE
2-SSL Alpha Channels - 1 SSL G-Compressor
Apogee Rosetta 200 - Z-Systems Opti-patch
Lexicon MPX-G2 Guitar Processor - .003r
Command 8 - Roland JV1000 + Triton Rack
FOCAL TWIN 3way speakers + JBL Q108MK11 Bottom
2-52 jax MilSpeck Patch Bays
2-22" Apple Cinema Display's
Allen & Heath 16ch Mixr

**Currently = 11-1-12
2 CD's Released-1-2003-2-2012 Worship ROCK
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2003, 07:25 AM
rebel peasant rebel peasant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 13
Default Re: Nvidia twin display on their Mac anyone?

That's easy, price. ADC or apple monitors are cool, but expensive. I already have the 2 VGA or CRT type monitors. The Nvidia site says it should work. I was wondering if anyone has tried this particular set up.
Thanks for the tip though.
__________________
More wine!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2003, 05:33 PM
Deirdre B's Avatar
Deirdre B Deirdre B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: South Berwick, Maine
Posts: 211
Default Re: Nvidia twin display on their Mac anyone?

Hey Rebel:

Can you have one monitor hooked up to the built-in monitor port and the other hooked into the card's VGA port? That should let you drag the monitors to the location you want in the monitors control panel.

yrz,
DB
__________________
Spiffy i7 Mac Mini
2 SSDs
Yosemite 10.10.5
PT 11
----
Never Stop Playing.
DBCooperVO.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2003, 07:39 AM
rebel peasant rebel peasant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 13
Default Re: Nvidia twin display on their Mac anyone?

DB,
Alas, no. I have since found out from the Manufacture (Nvidia) that the dual monitor, extended desktop feature will work only if you combine a regular monitor with an "Apple" monitor. Curiously this quirk is specific to the GForce MX 2 "twin view" card. The card models after that have no such limitations. Apparently this was in an effort to get people to buy more Apple product. So I will now go out and be a good little consumer and purchase another graphics card. Guess I should have bought the damn Apple monitor after all.
__________________
More wine!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA NVS4200M display driver issues Superclock Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 12-30-2011 08:49 AM
003 With UA 710 Twin-Finity OR Mbox 2 Pro with With UA 710 Twin-Finity samcharles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 12-05-2011 11:06 AM
Digi Tech Sup: Color Display & Aux Send Display bugs nob turner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-07-2010 02:43 PM
twin view with nvidia geforce 2 digitile Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-09-2003 01:40 PM
"New" twin 1 Giga or "old" twin 1Giga digigirly Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 09-23-2002 11:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com