Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2021, 11:59 PM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Default HD Omni dead?

Today my HD Omni interface suddenly doesn’t work.
The fans are running and the power button lights up in orange, but LCDs are black and no buttons or encoders work. Pro Tools doesn’t recognize it either.

Anybody else have seen this?
__________________

PT Ultimate 2020.11.0.157 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock | EuControl 2020.11.1.0 | PT Control 2020.11.1.0
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 | Nehalem Mac Pro (FW 5,1), 2 x 3,46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2021, 02:30 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: HD Omni dead?

I would recommend rebooting your computer and immediately running DigiTest which you can find under Applications/Utilities/Avid DigiTest. Click on the peripherals tab and see if it is detected, erroneous or if it is possible to update firmware.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2021, 04:40 AM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Default Re: HD Omni dead?

Thanks Jeff!

DigiTest sees the interface, but the ”Begin Update” option is greyed out.
DigiTest.jpg
__________________

PT Ultimate 2020.11.0.157 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock | EuControl 2020.11.1.0 | PT Control 2020.11.1.0
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 | Nehalem Mac Pro (FW 5,1), 2 x 3,46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2021, 08:31 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: HD Omni dead?

The last effort would probably be to try updating / reloading the firmware with Digitest using a pre-12.4 version if possible. We've seen customers recover units in this state with earlier versions before. If that doesn't work, it would likely need to be repaired.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2021, 08:35 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,488
Default Re: HD Omni dead?

Its also worth reseating all connections
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2021, 09:13 AM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Default Re: HD Omni dead?

Thanks for your help and suggestions!

When it wasn’t possible to update the firmware via Digitest, I was about to give up, so i just left the unit powered on while doing other things. After an hour or so, I heard the fans slowing down an then the displays and diods lit up. I was able to update the FW and after a reboot it seemed to work - Pro Tools recognized the HD Omni and the meters on the interface were indicating signal, but there was no sound from any outputs (TRS, D-Sub or headphones).
After another restart of the Omni, Mac and PT though, everything seems to work again.
__________________

PT Ultimate 2020.11.0.157 | HD OMNI | S3 | PT Dock | EuControl 2020.11.1.0 | PT Control 2020.11.1.0
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 | Nehalem Mac Pro (FW 5,1), 2 x 3,46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 128 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-2021, 01:03 PM
gtomassetti's Avatar
gtomassetti gtomassetti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central CT
Posts: 269
Default Re: HD Omni dead?

Wish I had a happy ending like this... My Omni has also apparently died. No fan noise, no activity on the front panel, nothing to see other than the light ring around the power button. I've tried everything, and I'm beginning to think that it may finally be time to write it off, give up on Avid, and move to a different DAW.

[sigh]
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 ("Garbage can"), late 2013, 3 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon E5; 64GB RAM; MH ULN-2 (Ethernet MHLink connection)
PT Ultimate 20.12.0; REAPER64; PreSonus Studio One 5 Pro, Central Station Plus, and FaderPort
McDSP All Access; Slate Digital All Access; Waves Diamond 12.0; NI Komplete; EW GhostWriter
Finale 26.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omni vs HD 8x8x8 io and Omni Pre's Southsidemusic Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 03-27-2013 01:00 AM
OMNI Fried? Calling Omni Members - Check High Samplerates KingFish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-03-2011 09:19 PM
Be aware! Potential HD Omni buyers with treated Rooms and Computers. Omni Noisy Fan FRaNCo MuSiC Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 09-25-2011 05:42 AM
HD-OMNI´s ADAT I/O dead...Firmware problem? 24BitMusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-03-2011 08:55 AM
Dead NTK guentherschmidt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-08-2004 10:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com