Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2020, 11:05 AM
jrs320 jrs320 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: New York, NY 10025
Posts: 21
Default New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

I bought a Mac Pro 2019 and am trying to get Pro Tools up and encountering problems. No surprise. Hoping someone can help. Here are the facts.

I migrated my data from my Mac Pro 2013 when I first turned on the new computer. I’m running:

PT 20.5.0.207, (2020.R1.0),
My hardware is an Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt and I have an Apple Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter so I can plug it in.

When I boot PT it goes through its startup process and at the end it tells me it can’t find the Avid Omni.

It also doesn’t see my Waves plugin licenses, but I’ll get to them after I get the app working.

That’s it. I’m happy to fill in any info that might help, just let me know what you need.

Thank you all!!

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2020, 11:31 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,470
Default New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrs320 View Post
I migrated my data...
That says it all.

Boot up your old Mac and move the Waves licenses back to the cloud.

Reformat the boot drive in the new Mac and do a fresh Mac OS install. Then do fresh installs of everything you want on it. If you have documents and files on the old Mac that you want on the new Mac, copy them over via thumb drive.

*Edit: DOH! Darryl beat me to it.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2020, 12:58 PM
jrs320 jrs320 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: New York, NY 10025
Posts: 21
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Yes, I got lazy and used the migration assistant! I should have known better.

I will reformat, wipe, and start from scratch.

Thank you both for your wisdom and advice.

Best,
Jon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2020, 01:52 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,954
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrs320 View Post
Yes, I got lazy and used the migration assistant! I should have known better.

I will reformat, wipe, and start from scratch.

Thank you both for your wisdom and advice.

Best,
Jon
Idealy yes do a clean install . However, I would try reinstalling pro Tools and the HD driver first and make sure your Digilink licence is working.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2020, 05:23 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,421
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

You need a digilink license on your ilok key and it is a $299 cost and also have you done the settings for audio as you need to do a few clicks in Mojave and upwards for the audio interface and audio apps.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT209175
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2020, 08:07 AM
jrs320 jrs320 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: New York, NY 10025
Posts: 21
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Hi Everyone. I just wanted to express my deep gratitude for your help. Yesterday I wiped the computer and started again. Pro Tools is now up and running and my MC Mix is working. I'll tackle the plugins next.

You were all right and so helpful. Many, many thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2021, 11:59 AM
Matt Stephanson Matt Stephanson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 36
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Old-ish thread, but a relevant problem for me today.

I've got 2 HDN OMNI systems and both of them will not work with the 2019 MacPro.

I have:
  • DigiKey licenses on the iLoks and they ARE ACTIVE.
    A fresh OS install of MacOs 10.15.7
    A fresh install of PT 20.12.0.190
    A fresh install of the latest HD Driver from my Master Account (downloaded today - March 3, 2021)

Apple System Profiler sees the HD Native Thunderbolt as "connected" to Thunderbolt Bus 2.

Audio Midi setup does NOT see the HDN.
Pro Tools Ultimate does NOT see the HDN.

Mac Specs: Mac Pro 2019, 3.2 GHz 16 core, 192 GB Ram, Pro Vega II 32 GB

Using an apple USB-C to TB adaptor with the Avid issued TB cable that came with the HD Native box.

I've tried uninstalling and re-installing Pro Tools AND the HD Driver, but still no luck.

I have granted Pro Tools access to the microphone in the security/privacy pane.

Anyone have any ideas?
Many thanks,

Last edited by Matt Stephanson; 03-03-2021 at 12:00 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2021, 01:51 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,350
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

TB3 to TB2 Apple adaptor

apple USB-C to TB adaptor I imagine is the issue.

However if the adaptor is tb3-2 try launching Pro Tools Ultimate holding “n”
To set playback engine.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2021, 09:39 AM
Matt Stephanson Matt Stephanson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 36
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Thanks for helping out, folks!

1. Is there a known issue with an Apple TB3(usb-c) to TB2 adaptor? If so, what are you using instead?


2. I saw no such security alert pop up during install (done it thrice now).
That must be the issue.

I'll check with our IT dept to see if they have some script preventing this key from loading.

Although, I've manually given the driver and all things Avid full Disc Access, Folder Access, Control, and Input, so that should have enable it, correct?

Obviously not.
This is happening on two systems both identical.
Thanks for the suggestions, folks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2021, 11:37 AM
Matt Stephanson Matt Stephanson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 36
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Well, actually Darryl, this is what I was responding to:
Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
TB3 to TB2 Apple adaptor

apple USB-C to TB adaptor I imagine is the issue.

However if the adaptor is tb3-2 try launching Pro Tools Ultimate holding “n”
To set playback engine.
I’ve tried everything you suggested, and repeatedly to no success.
Like I did say in my last post, no pop up message ever appeared.
I continue to suspect that it’s our IT dept script preventing this from surfacing, and that it’s not an Avid driver issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fs Thunderbolt HD native + Omni, PRE agradl Buy & Sell 2 05-06-2020 06:10 AM
Avid HD Omni & HD Native Thunderbolt edwinstar Buy & Sell 3 10-30-2017 05:28 PM
SELLING AVID C|24 omni thunderbolt hd native greenplanet3d Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 03-24-2016 10:35 AM
Audio Midi Setup doesn't recognize io on Avid HD Omni Thunderbolt MJarzabek Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 10-10-2013 07:36 AM
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt and OMNI for Sale drogan88 Buy & Sell 0 03-15-2013 06:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com