Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2021, 09:31 PM
frisbie9 frisbie9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 27
Default Help lengthening section

Hi, I've been unsuccessful looking around trying to find out how to extend a section of a song. I'm trying to add a few bars to a verse section. I know how to duplicate, and i've tried the "shift" function and then dragged the section to the empty space but it's not "pushing"/lengthening the track, ie inserting without replacing.

I've spent way more time creating and trying to up my edit skills, so I'm sure this is newbie-esque question. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2021, 12:08 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,556
Default Re: Help lengthening section

Are you in Shuffle Mode?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2021, 06:22 PM
frisbie9 frisbie9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 27
Default Re: Help lengthening section

No, it's been in Slip mode.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2021, 06:36 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,556
Default Re: Help lengthening section

You need to be in Shuffle Mode.

If you want to copy a definite length and insert that same length at a definite spot, in Shuffle Mode, Shift+Click on Grid Mode.

Either way, in Shuffle Mode, highlight the area you want to copy, copy, put the cursor where you want to start inserting the copied audio and paste.

Slip (or Grid) will place the copied audio over whatever is there when you paste. At the insertion point, Shuffle will insert what you've copied and move everything to the right of the insertion point, to the right.

If there is something farther to the right on the Timeline you don't want moved, Lock the first Clip of what you don't want moved and that Clip and anything to the right of it will stay in place.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2021, 06:49 PM
frisbie9 frisbie9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 27
Default Re: Help lengthening section

Awesome! Exactly what i needed....i knew it was something basic i was overlooking. Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools lengthening audio track conalearly macOS 0 04-01-2015 02:46 PM
How to get PT to loop a section, without having to listen to that entire section? FranHoop Pro Tools 9 3 11-04-2011 02:57 AM
RECORDING SECTION BY SECTION jayrussell Tips & Tricks 3 04-28-2008 10:59 AM
Should there be a M-Box Section BMGE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-27-2002 03:37 PM
Lengthening the cable for 001 Paver 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-08-2000 07:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com