Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2006, 02:39 AM
DaveSB DaveSB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 449
Default Editing Video with PT 7.2

Hi really dumb question--Im aboubt to buy Final Cut Pro 5 and I have already have a PT HD2 system.
Will the ability to edit video with PT7.2 sort of turn it into a Avid/PT Hybrid system
Will the video editing be as good as say Avid Xpress

thanks in advance
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2006, 08:00 AM
soundguydave soundguydave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 223
Default Re: Editing Video with PT 7.2

My understanding is you can trim the regions and cut, but thats about it. Stuff like cross fades or other video type effects won't be available. My guess it if you wanted to anything beyond very basic editing, you'd want final cut. Also I don't think you can capture video into protools of say a DVD or Digibeta.
__________________
Dave Kaduk
Particle Audio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2006, 08:30 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Editing Video with PT 7.2

yes it is just basic cut only from what I've seen, best use that I can see is trimming the picture so you can keep working until a new cut is delivered also mutable movies on the track
It will capture video if you have MOJO
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:10 PM
DaveSB DaveSB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 449
Default Re: Editing Video with PT 7.2

In that case I will buy FCP 5
Im after tips of which way the I should Partition the drives if I use a single box
G5 Dual 2GHZ PCIe Dual Core, PT HD2, 96I/O

ie SATA Drive 1 which is the standard APPLE OS drive 160GB(first Partition OSX 10.4 40gb, Second partion Data 120GB)

SATA Drive 2 320GB(first Partition PT 160GB, 2nd Partition Final Cut Pro 160GB)

thanks in advance
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2006, 10:15 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Editing Video with PT 7.2

if you want there is a kit to put 2 additional drives (3&4) in front of the CPUs.
you could stripe them together for FPC and leave #2 for strait PT
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editing Video in PT, handling Video TC thierryd Post - Surround - Video 4 11-10-2013 03:24 PM
Video Editing Bug Jeffrey Talbot Pro Tools 11 7 07-17-2013 10:27 AM
video editing 372cat Pro Tools 9 3 12-14-2010 07:25 AM
Video Editing in 7.3 Kenny Gioia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 03-11-2007 06:49 PM
Video Editing GtrDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-19-2003 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com