Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-14-2021, 12:36 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 833
Default Re: The best amp modeling plugin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
The Diezels from Plugin Alliance can do a good clean sound
I use them quite a bit myself, as with the PRS Archon model that Waves does. I do use other amps, they've just been my favs of late. All of the PRS amps are really good actually.

I'm a new comer to Amplitube, so I haven't used them as much, but I'm looking forward to giving them a spin. I'm still need to update my Komplete library, been waiting for an update sale there. So it will be a little while before I get around to giving Guitar Rig 6 a try.

In my option they're all really good, as with the rest of the Plugin Alliance amps. I only wished they put out a host like plugin for their amps so I can more easily flick through each amp and audition them. In instances where you need to find a tone fast then all in one solutions like Amplitube and Guitar Rig are still an advantage.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-14-2021, 04:26 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,297
Default Re: The best amp modeling plugin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon.a.billington View Post
I use them quite a bit myself, as with the PRS Archon model that Waves does. I do use other amps, they've just been my favs of late. All of the PRS amps are really good actually.

I'm a new comer to Amplitube, so I haven't used them as much, but I'm looking forward to giving them a spin. I'm still need to update my Komplete library, been waiting for an update sale there. So it will be a little while before I get around to giving Guitar Rig 6 a try.

In my option they're all really good, as with the rest of the Plugin Alliance amps. I only wished they put out a host like plugin for their amps so I can more easily flick through each amp and audition them. In instances where you need to find a tone fast then all in one solutions like Amplitube and Guitar Rig are still an advantage.
Take a look at Gig Performer from Plugin Alliance
https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/p...e_edition.html
or
https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/p...rformer_3.html
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-14-2021, 06:45 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: The best amp modeling plugin?

One thing I've noticed: When using the same brand of modeler on multiple guitar parts (not stacks/mults, but different parts), even with varied settings/amps, I was struggling to make different parts work together (sonically). When I swapped one or two of the parts to an alternative modeler the mix opened up with much less effort. Anyone else experience this? Just curious.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucontrol 20.6, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.6, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2019.12 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.14.6, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-14-2021, 09:39 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,297
Default Re: The best amp modeling plugin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim R. View Post
One thing I've noticed: When using the same brand of modeler on multiple guitar parts (not stacks/mults, but different parts), even with varied settings/amps, I was struggling to make different parts work together (sonically). When I swapped one or two of the parts to an alternative modeler the mix opened up with much less effort. Anyone else experience this? Just curious.
When you say 'same brand of modeler' are you talking the same plugin on all the parts? Are the parts harmonically related to each other somehow? It could just be different tracks need different amp models. You get too much of say Diezel or Herbert in one tune and things start to fight with each other.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-14-2021, 11:46 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: The best amp modeling plugin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
When you say 'same brand of modeler' are you talking the same plugin on all the parts? Are the parts harmonically related to each other somehow? It could just be different tracks need different amp models. You get too much of say Diezel or Herbert in one tune and things start to fight with each other.
The exact scenario was a basic punk song with 3 guitar parts (one of them a baritone). Parts were similar, but intended to have different tones. I had Waves' GTR tool rack on all three with different presets including different cabinet models, pedals, etc. I was having trouble getting them to sit on their own in the track. All three were distorted tones. I swapped to the Sansamp and 11 MkII on two parts and without too much effort all 3 parts had their own space.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucontrol 20.6, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.6, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2019.12 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.14.6, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-14-2021, 12:09 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,297
Default Re: The best amp modeling plugin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim R. View Post
The exact scenario was a basic punk song with 3 guitar parts (one of them a baritone). Parts were similar, but intended to have different tones. I had Waves' GTR tool rack on all three with different presets including different cabinet models, pedals, etc. I was having trouble getting them to sit on their own in the track. All three were distorted tones. I swapped to the Sansamp and 11 MkII on two parts and without too much effort all 3 parts had their own space.
I don't know the Waves GTR Rack but trying to have all parts with the same amp sim doesn't always work. It's not unknown to use different amps or amp sims on different tracks in the same tune.


Like Shakespeare said: much ado about nothing
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-14-2021, 06:36 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,499
Default Re: The best amp modeling plugin?

I have tried MANY amp plug ins and the best all around IMHO is Positive Grid Bias Amp2. Certainly there are some nice HEAVY amp sims, such as Neural DSP, but those are not good clean or slightly overdriven sims. Bias has decent bass amp sims too. They also have an online link to download other peoples and Positive Grids custom amp emulations. You can make IRs of your real amp and post them. I don't like PGs pedal FX sims though. They are ok. I like the Bias Amp much better.
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-05-2021, 05:05 AM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 516
Default Re: The best amp modeling plugin?

Personally I use the PA stuff (ENGL, Diezel, Mesa (bx_megasingle/dual)) mostly for sketching and then re-amp the DI's with Kemper. Then again I am a pure heavy-metal guy so might not be the best reference.
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 7.1, 16-Core Xeon 3.2GHz, 196 GB RAM, OSX 10.15.2, HDX3, PT 2019.12 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 PCIe Octo's, Raven MTZ, 1x HD Omni, 2x HD I/O's, 1x MTRX and some more cool stuff...
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2019 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-06-2021, 01:36 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: The best amp modeling plugin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by s.d. finley View Post
I have tried MANY amp plug ins and the best all around IMHO is Positive Grid Bias Amp2. Certainly there are some nice HEAVY amp sims, such as Neural DSP, but those are not good clean or slightly overdriven sims. Bias has decent bass amp sims too. They also have an online link to download other peoples and Positive Grids custom amp emulations. You can make IRs of your real amp and post them. I don't like PGs pedal FX sims though. They are ok. I like the Bias Amp much better.
Positive Grid stuff sounds amazing, amp sims, EQs and such.

However, when I found the EQs don't recall the correct plugin settings after closing the Pro Tools Session I emailed their support. In short they said it won't be fixed and did I want a refund?

So as good as they sound I have decided to steer clear until they can get a plugin to remember the correct settings. I mean it is pretty fundamental right?! I just checked and the plugin is still the same version three years later.

Pro Series EQ
Version: 0.0.9.277
Release Date: 2018-05-09

The Update History for the said plugin is a '404' broken link which just about sums it up.

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-06-2021, 02:03 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,022
Default Re: The best amp modeling plugin?

My go-to session guitarist likes PA RockRack and the ENGL emulations, so that is what I use the most. And my go-to live guitarist uses Eleven Rack on stage, so that is what I use rest of the time.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are you using for guitar modeling in PT11? DontLetMeDrown Pro Tools 11 36 01-20-2015 07:35 AM
Amp Modeling Plug In Jmmergens RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 5 05-22-2013 08:27 AM
Mic Modeling/distance plug-ins? Lee Blaske Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-11-2006 11:33 PM
Mic Modeling Sam601 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-21-2004 08:39 AM
Mic Modeling (Antares) SKI 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-07-2002 06:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com