Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2007, 05:28 AM
John V. John V. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Cannot hear Pan in headphones

Mbox 2 (Factory) and Pro Tools 7...

Newby question... no luck looking it up so far. I have imported four WAV tracks recorded externally in to my new Pro Tools LE 7 session. I set outputs on the WAV tracks to 1-2 (stereo) but no matter what I do I cannot hear the pan in my headphones... in other words it is always centered. Interesting enough, when I pan to the < 0 > position, the sound becomes very faint. I have a Master Fader set up, and can hear everything jsut fine (albeit in Mono) when setting the outputs to 1 or to 2...

This is very perplexing to me... and is probably a result of my inexperience with DAW... always have used external records (like MR8 HD) and never had such a problem.

Does anyone have any thoughts?

My thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2007, 05:51 AM
soundguy_2000 soundguy_2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rock City Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 149
Default Re: Cannot hear Pan in headphones

from your description of the sound becoming soft when panned center, it sounds like a wiring issue. it could be your headphones or a fault with the mbox.

i assume you're plugged into the front output next to the Headphone volume control labeled with a little picture of headphones? make sure your phones are firmly plugged in all the way and if there's a 3.5-6.5mm adapter on the end of the cable, be sure it's properly attached.

what happens if you assign all track outputs to 1 and depress the mono button?

if it goes really quiet, can you try a different set of headphones?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2007, 01:29 PM
John V. John V. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Cannot hear Pan in headphones

Thanks... I will give that a try and see what happens. Thought I would hook up a pair of monitors tonight as well and see what came through them. I will post when I know...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2007, 01:29 PM
John V. John V. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Cannot hear Pan in headphones

Thanks... I will give that a try and see what happens. Thought I would hook up a pair of monitors tonight as well and see what came through them. I will post when I know...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2007, 07:05 PM
John V. John V. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Cannot hear Pan in headphones

Hooked up the monitors... worked fine. So I started checking other signal path items... turned out to be a 1/3 to 1/8 adapter for the headphones... puit a different one on and all was well. Thanks!

John V.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2007, 07:14 AM
John V. John V. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Cannot hear Pan in headphones

Of course, I meant 1/4 - 1/8th...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't hear myself in my headphones while recording rtebel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-04-2012 08:28 AM
can't hear my synthesizer through my headphones marieanne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-30-2010 08:42 AM
Hear the input on headphones? possumday Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 10-05-2007 09:04 PM
Cannot hear what is being recorded in headphones Andre White 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-16-2007 08:26 AM
I want to hear metronome in headphones only... DanZ Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-07-2006 11:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com