Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-21-2017, 01:33 PM

Default Mastering

I work with a lot of young bands who's budgets are very tight that I always end up mastering their songs. I tell them straight I'm no mastering engineer and it would benefit your songs to have them professionally mastered, but when I tell them the ruff cost they come back with "can you just do it for us" One band who I recorded a long long time ago and I feel my mixing skills/engineering were not as competent as they are now, did take my advice and sent 3 tracks off to Abbey Road which cost them £350. They did sound very good when we got them back and did translate well on lots of systems. What I'm asking here is if it's possible that anyone has hold or knows if there are any commercial songs out there that have not been mastered so I could show my future clients the before and after, plus so I can get more of an insight into what mastering really will/won't do to a mix

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 5.1 12 Core 3.46hz Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Old 05-29-2017, 08:31 PM

Default Re: Mastering

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
What I'm asking here is if it's possible that anyone has hold or knows if there are any commercial songs out there that have not been mastered so I could show my future clients the before and after, plus so I can get more of an insight into what mastering really will/won't do to a mix
It's probably just easier to compare any commercial (hit) record to ones own attempt at mastering to get an A/B reference.