Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2009, 02:06 PM
Monaco Monaco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 210
Question Duplicate MIDI notes?

When I record MIDI from my Axiom 25, I get 2 of each note.
http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/1690/picture2kvy.png

How can I stop this?
I'm using Studio "B" (below)
__________________
Tampa Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2009, 02:17 PM
Monaco Monaco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 210
Default Re: Duplicate MIDI notes?

quick update:

I selected the "All MIDI Notes Off" from the Event menu and all is well. What is the purpose of that setting?
__________________
Tampa Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2010, 12:01 AM
Oroz Oroz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: México
Posts: 259
Default Re: Duplicate MIDI notes?

Got the same problem with my XP-50 as a controller. I'm gonna try your solution and will report if it solves my problem too.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2010, 12:33 AM
tlennon tlennon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 171
Default Re: Duplicate MIDI notes?

Make sure you only have a single connection to your computer. Dup notes happen sometimes when your keyboard/controller is connected by USB and Midi at the same time.

All notes off is used when you stop playback and your midi inst does not receive a note off command from the midi track. Thus a 'stuck note'. I hope this helps.
__________________
Terrence Lennon
Ivory Key Productions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2010, 12:55 AM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Duplicate MIDI notes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlennon View Post
Make sure you only have a single connection to your computer. Dup notes happen sometimes when your keyboard/controller is connected by USB and Midi at the same time.
.
I bet thats it.
If you do have your setup like that for some reason the other thing you can do is to choose a specific input for the instrument track
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2010, 02:10 AM
Oroz Oroz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: México
Posts: 259
Default Re: Duplicate MIDI notes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlennon View Post
Make sure you only have a single connection to your computer. Dup notes happen sometimes when your keyboard/controller is connected by USB and Midi at the same time.
Not the case here. My keyboard is only connected via MIDI.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2010, 01:14 PM
davidp158 davidp158 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Belleuve, WA, USA
Posts: 804
Default Re: Duplicate MIDI notes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdarbyshirebryant View Post
P.603 of the reference guide.
I don't know what is causing the duplicate notes, but here's the info from pg. 603 of the reference guide on how to remove them:

Remove Duplicate Notes
The Remove Duplicate Notes command is used to remove duplicate MIDI notes. If a note starts within the first 25% of the duration of a note of the same pitch which is already sounding (or within an eighth-note, whichever is shorter), it is considered a duplicate and is combined with the previous note. If it starts later than that, the first note is shortened so that it ends at the same tick at which the new one starts.

To remove duplicate notes:
1 Make an Edit selection including the duplicate notes you want to remove.
2 Choose Event > Remove Duplicate Notes.

The "All MIDI Notes Off" command is just a way to release "stuck" (endlessly sustaining) MIDI notes.

Stuck Notes
If you encounter stuck notes with any of your MIDI devices, you can silence them with the All MIDI Notes Off command.
To turn off all stuck notes: Choose Event > All MIDI Notes Off.

Keyboard shortcut:
Press Control+Shift+Period (.) (Windows) or Command+Shift+Period (.) (Mac) for the All MIDI Notes Off command.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2010, 02:54 PM
tlennon tlennon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 171
Default Re: Duplicate MIDI notes?

^ Correct and useful functions but all are anecdotal. It is more important to find the root cause and resolve. I would check my Midi cable, reversing the connection or replacing with another then check my Midi driver settings and Midi setup menus in PT. I have an Axiom 61 and only had this problem with duoble connections (USB and Midi) which the OP said is not the case with his setup.
__________________
Terrence Lennon
Ivory Key Productions
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-08-2013, 02:29 PM
designweb designweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brighton
Posts: 6
Default Re: Duplicate MIDI notes?

I had the same problem with my M-Audio Keystation Pro 88.
I figured out what was causing though. On the 88 you have zones and 2 were turned on, thus creating duplicates. Turned the zone off and all works fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Editing duplicate notes AMcG Pro Tools 9 1 10-26-2011 08:28 AM
Duplicate MIDI notes with AXIOM 61 problems proverb18 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-07-2007 03:43 PM
Duplicate MIDI notes with AXIOM 61 problems proverb18 MIDI 0 09-07-2007 10:56 AM
MIDI ghost/duplicate notes problem...HELP! vocalvoodoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-02-2005 09:12 AM
How do I remove duplicate MIDI notes? Rob Ruce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-11-2003 03:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com