Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:12 PM
Syncrecy Syncrecy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 74
Default G4 Dual 800, with tiger and 002R PT 7.0

This question is geared toward any users but, Digi support can feel free to answer as well.

Is any one running a Digi002R, PT7.0 with Tiger OS on a G4 Dual 800 Mac? If so, have you found it to be solid?

Yes, I have read the Digidesign compatibility PDF.
I'm running a Digi001, PT 6.4 with 10.3 OS, I had plans to upgrade my I/O to Digi002R, with PT 7.0 & Tiger10.4 but, I've read that my G4 is not tested, nor recommended, so that may mean it will not be supported, I don't wish to upgrade to a G5 at this time.

any true input is welcomed.

Louis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:23 PM
vicwind vicwind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 342
Default Re: G4 Dual 800, with tiger and 002R PT 7.0

i dunno about a dual 800, but my system is about twice as powerful now with version 7. hey, it'll probably work and you'd be happy with the upgrade IF it all worked nicely. but seeing as it's not supported, (nor is mine) it could be sketchy. good luck on this.
__________________
MBPro C2D 2.2, 4gbRAM, external SATA. PowerMac G5 DP 2Ghz, 5 GB RAM, BLA modded Digi 002, 2 x 160GB Seagate SATA, PT 7.4, Mac OS 10.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2005, 07:17 PM
Syncrecy Syncrecy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 74
Default Re: G4 Dual 800, with tiger and 002R PT 7.0

Vicwind,

Thank for your input, I do have a good feeling that it will work on my G4 Dual 800. I would like to get more input from other users.

Again thanks a ton...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2005, 10:23 PM
Syncrecy Syncrecy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 74
Default Re: G4 Dual 800, with tiger and 002R PT 7.0

I had hoped to find more G4 users out there...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2005, 05:54 AM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: G4 Dual 800, with tiger and 002R PT 7.0

Here to.
A few-G4 Imac 800's, 5-867 duals. 1-Powerbook 800 dvi.
And 1 each quicksilver & MDD dual 1GHz.
(PT’s 6.9xLE & OS 10.4.2)(Mix of MBox-1's & 002r's)

Not recommended, OK
Working with track limitations?
Not working at all?
Will they blow up? (Fry the motherboards...)
It's certainly a tag team between software needing new hardware and new hardware needing new software. (Every 3-4 years)

BTW, I also have a few G5’s running PT7HD fine.
Hardware replacement budgets just run a slower.
All the LE systems do not need high track count.
I’m looking for consistent menus between rooms.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2005, 02:16 PM
mixaudio mixaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Posts: 405
Default Re: G4 Quicksilvr Dual *Ghz, Tiger, 002R and PT 7


I was about to create another post with the same question. I have a dual 1 GHz Quicksilver (not supported officialy either). It would be great to hear if anybody has already taken the "risk" with any of these machines and what kind of results are being experienced.

I've always guessed that Digidesign tests and recommends the newer model machines, but eventually, the slightly older ones could work fine and just perform with less processing power.

Thanks!

Rodolfo Fernandez
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:20 PM
Syncrecy Syncrecy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 74
Default Re: G4 Quicksilvr Dual *Ghz, Tiger, 002R and PT 7

BUMP
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:06 PM
Lotus54 Lotus54 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Port Angeles, WA
Posts: 132
Default Re: G4 Quicksilvr Dual *Ghz, Tiger, 002R and PT 7

I have a Dual 867 MDD with a 002R and PT7 (also PT 6.4).
It is working just fine, much more tracks avaliable in PT7.

The only problem I had was the distortion I got originally. I tried everything Digi suggested and nothing worked. Finally I flashed it back to the firmware from the 6.4 version, and it works just fine. In PT 7, 6.9.2 and 6.4. The newer firmware wouldn't work on any of them.
Perhaps it is just my computer or something- I had a clean install of Tiger, nothing else on that drive and it STILL distorted.

Digi was very helpful, even sent out another unit. But it did the same thing, thats why I tried loading the older firmware. They didn't suggest it, and when I told them about it, it sounded like nothing they had heard of. They also couldn't tell me any problems I may have running PT7 with the older firmware. But I have yet to have any problems.

Mark
__________________
Mark Hollingsworth
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:47 AM
mixaudio mixaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Posts: 405
Default Re: G4 Quicksilvr Dual *Ghz, Tiger, 002R and PT 7


Anybody already using PT7 on Quicksilver dual G4 or models previous to mirrored doors?

Your feedback would be highly appreciated.

Syncrecy: have you found any info from any other resources?

Rodolfo Fernandez
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:25 AM
davidp158 davidp158 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Belleuve, WA, USA
Posts: 804
Default Re: G4 Quicksilvr Dual *Ghz, Tiger, 002R and PT 7

I have a Quicksilver Dual GHz and 002 control surface, and would like to migrate to PTLE 7. Does anyone know what it is about the Quicksilver Macs that prevent them from working with PTLE 7? I realize they are not the fasted machines, but one would think a dual GHz machine would work for 24 tracks with PTLE7 if we could use them for 32 tracks in previous versions.

Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone got Tiger (10.4.9) Dual PPC running PT8??! 1ace1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-09-2009 10:11 AM
Dual boot Leopard - Tiger? molecola 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 05-12-2009 07:54 AM
Upgrading G4 dual 1.4 ghz to PT7 & Tiger. Niels B Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 12-23-2005 08:01 AM
Tiger on dual 1.25 G4 Cawbaby Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-16-2005 08:43 AM
10.4 Tiger with Dual 1.25 FW800... Kling3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-08-2005 08:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com