Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2016, 10:34 AM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 134
Default Audio Interfaces for Protools HD Native

I was wondering which audio interfaces are working with HD native systems - I need HD native because I have 48i/o and as far as I know thats not possible without HDX or HD native.. so apogee and divi interfaces and what else can I use?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2016, 11:23 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Audio Interfaces for Protools HD Native

Anything that has a Digilink adapter that makes Protools see it as an HD interface. Besides Apogee, there is the Lynx Auroras, also Prism Sound has it for their Titan and a few other of their products. Also Mytek but I don't know if they are as up to date with their stuff. There may be a couple of more boutique brands such as Burl Audio, but I'm not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2016, 11:26 AM
LesPaul2550 LesPaul2550 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 48
Default Re: Audio Interfaces for Protools HD Native

They have Lynx Aurora's (an 8 and a 16) both with Digilink L-slot cards at the studio I work out of. We LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them!!! Certainly not the only one out there but the only one I've got a lot of hours using. We've even done transfers from 2" tape and those Lynx duplicate the idiosyncrasies from tape (hiss and all). We even did an A/B of the Lynx vs. straight from tape and they sounded identical (tone, transient response, sound of the tape getting up to speed, everything).

I've also heard good things about the Prism's.

BTW, what's your budget? Actually, if you're looking at Apogee then that probably answers that question.
__________________
Quote from the movie Heavy Metal:
"And if I refuse?"
"Then you die, she dies, everybody dies"

Last edited by LesPaul2550; 01-20-2016 at 11:29 AM. Reason: spelling correction
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2016, 01:32 PM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: Audio Interfaces for Protools HD Native

I´m looking for 40 channels of AD/DA - interface without fan - budget around 6k
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2016, 02:13 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,423
Default Re: Audio Interfaces for Protools HD Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeyy View Post
I´m looking for 40 channels of AD/DA - interface without fan - budget around 6k
You are probably not going to do that new at that budget. Not 40 analog IO.

Used 192s are cheap.

I believe the Lynx Aurora will be the lowest-cost fan free option.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2016, 03:07 PM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,186
Default Re: Audio Interfaces for Protools HD Native

I've got 5 192Ds for sale. Just saying...,
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2016, 04:45 AM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: Audio Interfaces for Protools HD Native

yes but with loud fans..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-21-2016, 04:56 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,829
Default Re: Audio Interfaces for Protools HD Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
I've got 5 192Ds for sale. Just saying...,

How much?
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2016, 05:41 AM
kurt's Avatar
kurt kurt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsingborg - Sweden
Posts: 674
Default Re: Audio Interfaces for Protools HD Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeyy View Post
yes but with loud fans..
You can put quiet fans in them.
__________________
MBP early 2011. Apple MacPro 5.1 12Core ”Westmere”. DeckLink HD Extreme 3D+. OS X10.10.5
PTN|10-11. PTN|HD|10-11-12. 16 x 16 HD I/O - 16 x 16 192 I/O Lots of gear.

http://www.mmvstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-21-2016, 06:37 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,711
Default Re: Audio Interfaces for Protools HD Native

If you had access to a Dante I/O unit, you could do something like a pair of the Focusrite RedNet HD32Rs, which are about $1,500. Looks like the Focusrite RedNet MP8Rs run about 3 grand each, though.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Native Thunderbolt w/ multiple audio interfaces? Eric Lambert Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 06-21-2015 09:16 AM
Digidesign/ProTools Audio Interfaces and nubus-cost of shipping only lambdapro Buy & Sell 0 03-21-2014 11:39 AM
Protools 10.3 HD Native and Blue interfaces Cambubs Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 10-26-2012 06:53 AM
PROTOOLS and other audio interfaces Kalfari 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-07-2011 11:17 PM
Other Audio Interfaces and ProTools software... Oybunny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-22-2004 05:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com