Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post    Community Terms of Use    Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search    Community Search    Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2015, 12:49 AM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default PT HD native 12.3.1. low Buffersize Recording

I recently moved from a Protools 10 HD3 system to a native PT12 system and Im trying to record at low Buffersizes such as 32 or 64 samples

now I was wondering if using delay compensation or not has an effect on my recording - I noticed when I used delay comp with plugins on my tracks the recording is not as tight as if turn dleay comp off..

there is also an option to use low latency monitoring which doesnt allow me to use plugs on the track Im recording - what does that change to my recording and timing?

thx for your help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2015, 03:35 AM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: PT HD native 12.3.1. low Buffersize Recording

any native HD recorders?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2015, 03:38 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,843
Default Re: PT HD native 12.3.1. low Buffersize Recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeyy View Post
any native HD recorders?
When you say "Any Native HD Users" do you mean PT HDN users with a PCIe card or a thunderbolt HD box or do you mean someone running HD12/11 on a non Avid Hardware setup or PT12 Native (Non HD) on native computer?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2015, 06:42 AM
littlesicily littlesicily is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 227
Default Re: PT HD native 12.3.1. low Buffersize Recording

Curious, as well.
I just switched from HD10 pcie accel to HD12.3.1 w/ HD Native pcie.
Noticed the midi timing is not as tight in current setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2015, 04:25 PM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: PT HD native 12.3.1. low Buffersize Recording

yep midi is definately a problem and was much tighter in my HD3

but also when using lots of plugins recording with delay comp seems to become quite unsteadily

just wondering if there are tricks to make it tighter.. Im using HDN thunderbolt with protools 12.3.1 on a mac mini with two super fast internal SSD drives
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-24-2015, 04:55 AM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: PT HD native 12.3.1. low Buffersize Recording

I also have a problem with my interfaces on 64 samples - they disconnect from time to time.. seems that recording on low buffer sizes is still a problem? Im working with 2 super fast internal SSD drives so speed shouldnt be a problem..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-24-2015, 09:27 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: PT HD native 12.3.1. low Buffersize Recording

Running HDN here and I work at the 64 buffer, probably 99% of the time. While tracking, I don't use any plugins that report more than 0-7 samples, BUT(great big BUT) I always have the Delay Compensation showing in the MIX window as there are days when I see large numbers for no reason. I have yet to figure out what is causing this, but sometimes I will see compensation of between 1100 and over 2000 samples, for no apparent reason(no hidden tracks, and no track reporting more than a few samples in the upper of the boxes). If I see this happen, I turn Delay Compensation off and record without issues. When the numbers are reporting correctly, Delay Compensation ON works fine as 7 samples is not a "groove buster"
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-24-2015, 09:37 AM
littlesicily littlesicily is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 227
Default Re: PT HD native 12.3.1. low Buffersize Recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
there are days when I see large numbers for no reason. I have yet to figure out what is causing this, but sometimes I will see compensation of between 1100 and over 2000 samples, for no apparent reason(no hidden tracks, and no track reporting more than a few samples in the upper of the boxes).
Same here. Be sure you don't have any active channel sends (even if bypassed).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-24-2015, 02:38 PM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: PT HD native 12.3.1. low Buffersize Recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
....BUT(great big BUT) I always have the Delay Compensation showing in the MIX window as there are days when I see large numbers for no reason. I have yet to figure out what is causing this, but sometimes I will see compensation of between 1100 and over 2000 samples, for no apparent reason(no hidden tracks, and no track reporting more than a few samples in the upper of the boxes).
interesteing thx for the trick! Ill leave delay display on - its pretty cool that most of the plugs Im recording with like digi eq and massey comp are 0-1 samples of delay which is like nothing!
any other tricks to minimize -9073 alike errors when recording on low buffer sizes?

Last edited by lukeyy; 12-25-2015 at 05:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get the low H/W buffersize of 32 Dutchmountain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-18-2009 10:34 AM
Problems "incree h/w buffersize" in playback/recording shaung 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-20-2009 02:15 AM
Buffersize vs RAM soebx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-01-2005 02:27 PM
buffersize PT 6.4 ?? hoijandee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-05-2004 01:01 AM
Native B4 and H/W buffersize 128!? P_J 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-31-2001 02:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com