Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2005, 04:38 PM
acappellaj acappellaj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default mix 24 track counts

Hey all,
I've got a protools LE setup and I'm thinking about getting something with a little more horsepower. I want to upgrade to a TDM system but can only afford the mix plus. I would like to know how powerful the mix 24 is. What are the track counts like with these systems if I only have the core card and what is the highest version of protools you can use with mix plus? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2005, 04:59 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,965
Default Re: mix 24 track counts

MIX hardware supports a maximum of 64 simultaneous voices. You can open a session with 128 tracks, but only 86 of them can be voiced. The last software version for MIX hardware is v6.4.1cs4.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2005, 10:54 AM
acappellaj acappellaj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: mix 24 track counts

Thanks for the reply. I actually probably didn't ask the question right. What I meant to say was, what kind of plugins, etc., can I use with one core card. How many tracks, with fx can I use? Thanks,
Josh M.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:31 AM
Seeee Seeee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: mix 24 track counts

you have all the host dsp that was used for mising and tracks that is now available for RTAS. on top of that you would have at least 4 chips available for TDM (assuming your using 2 chips for mixing a 64 track session) and those 4 chips can be shared amongst certain plug ins. but yeah, you'll have way more juice and you can always get dsp farms for 200-400 bucks (4 chips) or Mix farms (6 chips) for 700-900 bucks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mix+ track Counts? jimmyz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-08-2009 05:11 PM
Track counts mix_master_adam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-20-2006 06:57 PM
Track counts jamieprank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-11-2004 11:02 AM
Track Counts? B3nzdigi Tips & Tricks 16 11-05-2004 07:35 AM
Want to go MAC....track counts? HL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-10-2001 08:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com