Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2016, 03:05 PM
garrethpb garrethpb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 14
Default Basic Question about Grabber Tool

Hi Everyone,

Please forgive the dumb question. I have used lots of DAWs in my life but by no means am I an expert. I recently purchased ProTools 12. I am actually not using it to record. I am a music theory professor and - well, it's a long story - I need to use ProTools for a paper I am working on. I just need to to the basics of editing but I am extremely frustrated right now!

Here's my question: When I try to use the "grabber" tool, it does not have the usual "open hand." It looks more like a hand with one finger pointing. Instead of allowing me to move clips, which is what I want to do, all I can seem to do with it is make changes to the volume envelope.

Can someone please tell me how to get the open hand so that I can just move some of these darn clips around?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2016, 03:27 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,555
Default Re: Basic Question about Grabber Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by garrethpb View Post
Hi Everyone,

Please forgive the dumb question. I have used lots of DAWs in my life but by no means am I an expert. I recently purchased ProTools 12. I am actually not using it to record. I am a music theory professor and - well, it's a long story - I need to use ProTools for a paper I am working on. I just need to to the basics of editing but I am extremely frustrated right now!

Here's my question: When I try to use the "grabber" tool, it does not have the usual "open hand." It looks more like a hand with one finger pointing. Instead of allowing me to move clips, which is what I want to do, all I can seem to do with it is make changes to the volume envelope.

Can someone please tell me how to get the open hand so that I can just move some of these darn clips around?

Thank you!
Sounds like you're viewing the volume automation playlist. Change it to Waveform in the pulldown menu and you'll be able to drag clips around all you like.

Also, you might want to remove your home address from the location portion of your profile. It's meant for your city or state, not your actual address.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2016, 03:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,066
Default Re: Basic Question about Grabber Tool

A search of youtube for things like "basic editing in pro tools"(without the quotes) will be very educational
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2016, 03:41 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Basic Question about Grabber Tool

Make sure your audio track is set to waveform.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 2.39.39 PM.png (40.1 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2016, 04:10 PM
garrethpb garrethpb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 14
Default Re: Basic Question about Grabber Tool

Yay! Thank y'all so much. I actually did a lot of YouTube searching for this but everyone treats the "open hand" as the default setting (as it is) and I couldn't figure out how to get the open hand back! I had my various tracks set to be panned left or right (for a reason), hence the trouble.

Thanks again - I really appreciate it.

Also, I will get rid of my home address on my "location," lest I be visited by a bunch of audio nerds!

Thank you all...

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2016, 04:15 PM
garrethpb garrethpb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 14
Default Re: Basic Question about Grabber Tool

Might as well ask question #2...

[IMG]file:///Users/gbroesche/Desktop/Screen%20Shot%202016-06-05%20at%205.12.47%20PM.png[/IMG]

I would like for my tracks to appear NOT as stereo tracks but simply as mono tracks - just one waveform, not one on top of the other. I assume there's a way to "collapse" these waveforms into a single level?

Thanks again!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 5.12.47 PM.jpg (43.1 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2016, 04:56 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,555
Default Re: Basic Question about Grabber Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by garrethpb View Post
I assume there's a way to "collapse" these waveforms into a single level?

Thanks again!
No, that's how stereo tracks appear in PT and always have. How else will you see the differences between the left and right?

Mono tracks are of course one waveform.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2016, 04:59 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Basic Question about Grabber Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by garrethpb View Post
I assume there's a way to "collapse" these waveforms into a single level?
Nope. I'm pretty shure that's never been an option in protools.

Added: Actually I think that tells a bit about the "nature of PT". A more "plug-and-play" audio app might implement this, but PT is pragmatic, a stereo file is two mono files, that's it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2016, 07:23 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,213
Default Re: Basic Question about Grabber Tool

I've never tried them, but how are interleaved files displayed?

Thanks,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2016, 08:35 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Basic Question about Grabber Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
I've never tried them, but how are interleaved files displayed?

Thanks,
Same thing. Two lanes. Two signals.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is is possible to change the shortcuts for the Pencil Tool, Grabber Tool, ETC? jgagne1 macOS 2 09-24-2013 08:46 AM
Grabber Tool question steppenwolf68 macOS 2 01-21-2013 06:54 AM
Get Grabber tool (Object) as part of smart tool? buckaroo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-13-2010 05:21 AM
Problems with Grabber Tool & Trim Tool S133 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-05-2008 11:19 PM
Grabber tool in 6.4 sepugaza MIDI 1 03-29-2006 11:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com