Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 06-05-2016, 09:02 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,753
Default Re: Good night, Pro Tools!

i have 3 months left in my subscription .. opened up Cubase Pro 8 yesterday as i needed to check a plugin for VR that needs surround ... i need HD to see this plugin in PT ..

i have thought many times in the last fee months to go back to HD ... but after all this crap Avid will be lucky to get my 99.00 in sept ...
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-06-2016, 08:54 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,810
Default Re: Good night, Pro Tools!

Sorry, Eric! Many of us understand your situation and can empathize with that frustration. Avid's greed and refusal to contribute proper assets for fixing their software issues are second to none. I don't want to donate another dime to the cause either. Their tactics for luring in customers and then locking them are borderline criminal in many people's opinion.

I hope that your next move is an evolution beyond ProTools and not a sacrifice in any way.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-06-2016, 09:14 AM
deanguidry deanguidry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lafayette, La.
Posts: 146
Default Re: Good night, Pro Tools!

I switched from Protools to Studio One a few years ago and, my lord, I'm so glad I did. Just integrated 2nd station in studio with legacy 192's and Protools. Watching new engineer working in Protools reminds me of how bad the work flow is compared to Studio One, especially at mix down. Seriously, Studio One is much more stable and does everything that Protools can do and more. And the cost....no comparison. Studio One is much less expensive. Support is excellent and timely.
__________________
Dean Guidry
Attorney at Law
Lafayette, LA
Collections, Personal Injury, Entertainment Law
myspace.com/studio89rocks
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-06-2016, 09:22 AM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,083
Default Re: Good night, Pro Tools!

can it import OMF files?


Quote:
Originally Posted by deanguidry View Post
I switched from Protools to Studio One a few years ago and, my lord, I'm so glad I did. Just integrated 2nd station in studio with legacy 192's and Protools. Watching new engineer working in Protools reminds me of how bad the work flow is compared to Studio One, especially at mix down. Seriously, Studio One is much more stable and does everything that Protools can do and more. And the cost....no comparison. Studio One is much less expensive. Support is excellent and timely.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 06-06-2016, 09:36 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: Good night, Pro Tools!

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjanthony View Post
can it import OMF files?
Nope. No OMF/AAF support. I heard VST/AU support can be added for $100 or something (!!)... Not exactly what I'd call "the next standard" as they say on their page but I haven't used it, so I can't really tell.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 • Presonus Faderport 8 • MOTU 896 • iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 06-06-2016, 10:01 AM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 475
Default Re: Good night, Pro Tools!

Quote:
Originally Posted by KV626 View Post
Nope. No OMF/AAF support. I heard VST/AU support can be added for $100 or something (!!)... Not exactly what I'd call "the next standard" as they say on their page but I haven't used it, so I can't really tell.
Every version of Studio One supports VST/AU. It's not an add on. Personally I have it, and prefer Pro Tools.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 06-06-2016, 10:23 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: Good night, Pro Tools!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dankin View Post
Every version of Studio One supports VST/AU.
Ah! It did sound suspicious I read that on a forum... But the lack of OMF/AAF is a deal breaker for me anyway.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 • Presonus Faderport 8 • MOTU 896 • iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 06-06-2016, 10:28 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: Good night, Pro Tools!

For me S1 needs two things - way better video support (totally primitive now with no export options) - better CPU utilization. Solve those and I am all in for getting that one going again (tried to make it work in January) - already own the full version.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 06-06-2016, 07:52 PM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default Re: Good night, Pro Tools!

If studio one had the kind of editing tools that protools had id be interested. But it needs a beat detective type plugin for me. I have to edit a lot!

Plus the pipeline thing isn't as nice as the hardware inserts in protools. If they stepped up those two things id jump ship in a heart beat. I'm sure they will soon.

But yeah avid better step it up. Get your software stable and start getting with the program or fade away!
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 06-07-2016, 04:59 AM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: Good night, Pro Tools!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dankin View Post
Every version of Studio One supports VST/AU. It's not an add on. Personally I have it, and prefer Pro Tools.
VST/AU support is an add-on to Studio One Artist.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.10, Cubase Artist 7.5.40, Allen & Heath Qu-16, Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 2G, Fujitsu Lifebook AH532, Intel Core i7-3612QM, 8 GB RAM, Windows 7 Professional SP1 64 bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IMAC good night chrisdee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 22 07-09-2009 03:45 PM
One night in… muzak13 Virtual Instruments 0 04-10-2007 05:50 PM
Not a bad night all in all hearttimes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-02-2006 11:07 PM
just saw "ray" the other night.... badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-24-2004 08:22 PM
Good Night Captain:( silence_of_stone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 01-24-2004 02:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com