Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #341  
Old 05-17-2016, 06:06 AM
Wireline Wireline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Midland TX
Posts: 141
Default Re: I want my money back..for 12.5 and the new computer!

If your license and workflow permit look for 11.3 as well. I haven't had any of the noise or other things others reported, my VERY light MIDI implementation works great, etc...

OSX 10.8.5, blah blah blah...

Oh, and telecasters rule the planet.
__________________
Ken Morgan
Midland, TX
It Doesn't Matter What I Did Then - What I Do Now Is What's Important
Reply With Quote
  #342  
Old 05-17-2016, 07:51 AM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default Re: I want my money back..for 12.5 and the new computer!

Yep. It is seriously flawed.

I have found several instabilities.

If you have a license for 11.3.2 try it. Very problem free and fast.

12 is awful. Avid should refund everyone's money.
Reply With Quote
  #343  
Old 05-17-2016, 10:09 AM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default Re: I want my money back..for 12.5 and the new computer!

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyv View Post
Ya gotta love any girl with a Telecaster! YES!

But how about trying a Mac? It seems from the posts that Windows is currently having more problems than Macs for PT 12.5.
I'd say from my experience it's about the same. Crashes are different but the -9173 are the same. 50 percent reliability on both sides of the computer coin.

I have a dual install of Windows 7 and OS X. If they would fix a few things in 12.5 it would probably be fine.

Commit the click telecaster girl!
Reply With Quote
  #344  
Old 05-17-2016, 10:31 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,612
Default Re: I want my money back..for 12.5 and the new computer!

12 is awful. Avid should refund everyone's money.

12.x which? Reading all kinds of 12.5 horror stories, but 12.4 HD on Win 7 is kicking butt here. No intention to ruin it with 12.5, thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #345  
Old 05-17-2016, 11:42 AM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default Re: I want my money back..for 12.5 and the new computer! (AAE error -9173)

With 12.4 what plugs are you running?

12.4 will run fine then out of the blue throw up access violations. Usually when doing heavy editing. Elastic throws them up too.
Reply With Quote
  #346  
Old 05-17-2016, 11:55 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,612
Default Re: I want my money back..for 12.5 and the new computer! (AAE error -9173)

The list is WAAAYY too long to put here, but standard go-to plugins include my UA stuff, Lexicon reverbs, WaveArts FinalPlug, assorted Plug n Mix stuff.
I used to get those danged access violations on EVERY version of 11 while recording, but (knock on wood) have yet to get one on any version of 12.
Reply With Quote
  #347  
Old 05-17-2016, 12:08 PM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: I want my money back..for 12.5 and the new computer!

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanonbass View Post
Yep. It is seriously flawed.

I have found several instabilities.

If you have a license for 11.3.2 try it. Very problem free and fast.

12 is awful. Avid should refund everyone's money.
...or at least extend the customers update plans until PT12 becomes stable.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.10, Cubase Artist 7.5.40, Allen & Heath Qu-16, Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 2G, Fujitsu Lifebook AH532, Intel Core i7-3612QM, 8 GB RAM, Windows 7 Professional SP1 64 bit
Reply With Quote
  #348  
Old 05-17-2016, 12:11 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: I want my money back..for 12.5 and the new computer! (AAE error -9173)

Try selecting "Ignore Errors" in Playback Settings. Solved all my 9173s and there are NO clicks or pops
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #349  
Old 05-17-2016, 12:27 PM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default Re: I want my money back..for 12.5 and the new computer! (AAE error -9173)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
The list is WAAAYY too long to put here, but standard go-to plugins include my UA stuff, Lexicon reverbs, WaveArts FinalPlug, assorted Plug n Mix stuff.
I used to get those danged access violations on EVERY version of 11 while recording, but (knock on wood) have yet to get one on any version of 12.
Crazy man. I get none in 11. Only in 12. And its every version i have tried. I can go all day every day and 11.3.2 is rock solid.

Gremlins i tell you.
Reply With Quote
  #350  
Old 05-17-2016, 02:38 PM
cshaw cshaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Bastrop, TX
Posts: 131
Default Re: 12.5 is failing badly (AAE error -9173)

Yep, you have to keep in mind that PT loads every plugin you have into memory so it makes no difference if you're not using a plugin on a track; if there's a bad one loaded it can crash a system.
Right now I'm experiencing the dreaded -9173 error just a day after I was thinking "wow, 12.5 has been really stable…".
Urgh!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9173 error in PT 12 ArKay99 Pro Tools 12 10 06-11-2016 02:41 AM
Error AAE 9173! Urghhh!!! Voice Crafters Pro Tools 11 9 06-12-2015 01:28 PM
Error -9173 music.m Pro Tools 11 1 03-19-2015 10:42 AM
PT 11 Clearly Not An AAE 9173 Error rgconrad1 Pro Tools 11 3 09-30-2014 12:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com