Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2010, 02:48 AM
SoundReplay SoundReplay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 75
Lightbulb Consolidate Regions + Convert Sample Rate + Export

Hello,

I've recorded 4 songs of a rockband last weekend in PT 7.4 HD2 TDM (96kHz-24Bit). I have over 30 tracks (most of them are mono) for each song (all WAV files).

Someone else is asking if he can mix these songs on Cubase (he's using 48kHz-24 bit)

My question to you guys:
  1. How can I consolidate all tracks AT THE SAME TIME so that they have the same lenght (i.e. not consolidate 1 by 1)
  2. Convert all consolidated tracks from 96kHz to 48kHz AT THE SAME TIME
  3. Identify these consolidated/converted tracks and export (they should be 48kHz and should be all identical in file size)
I know how to consolidate track by track, bounce it and convert to 48kHz and export, but that would be a very time-consuming process.

What would be a nice trick to speed up this process?

Thanks!
__________________
www.soundreplay.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2010, 04:17 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: Consolidate Regions + Convert Sample Rate + Export

read the freeze tracks thing here:
http://www.songphonic.com/ProToolsTutorials

then do the export

cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2010, 05:49 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 746
Default Re: Consolidate Regions + Convert Sample Rate + Export

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundReplay View Post
Hello,

I've recorded 4 songs of a rockband last weekend in PT 7.4 HD2 TDM (96kHz-24Bit). I have over 30 tracks (most of them are mono) for each song (all WAV files).

Someone else is asking if he can mix these songs on Cubase (he's using 48kHz-24 bit)

My question to you guys:
  1. How can I consolidate all tracks AT THE SAME TIME so that they have the same lenght (i.e. not consolidate 1 by 1)
  2. Convert all consolidated tracks from 96kHz to 48kHz AT THE SAME TIME
  3. Identify these consolidated/converted tracks and export (they should be 48kHz and should be all identical in file size)
I know how to consolidate track by track, bounce it and convert to 48kHz and export, but that would be a very time-consuming process.

What would be a nice trick to speed up this process?

Thanks!
if you want to consolidate tracks WITHOUT plugins written to them, then:

make a selection of all the tracks and the range you want to consolidate (this way you´re able to consolidate more than one track at a time)

name the regions, select them all again and export them as new audio-files (shift+cmd+K) - in the export dialog choose the desired samplerate and bit-resoution
__________________
Mac Pro 2010: PT12 Ultimate 2020 on High Sierra, PT10 HD3 on Mavericks, Logic X, Digital Performer, VEPro

MacBook Pro: Logic X, Mainstage
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:31 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,647
Default Re: Consolidate Regions + Convert Sample Rate + Export

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKEROPHONICS View Post
read the freeze tracks thing here:
http://www.songphonic.com/ProToolsTutorials

then do the export

cheers
That is such a great tip from Osman! i have used it quite a lot for mastering and for VI's. and great video's showing how its done as well


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:56 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Consolidate Regions + Convert Sample Rate + Export

Quote:
That is such a great tip from Osman! i have used it quite a lot for mastering and for VI's. and great video's showing how its done as well
You can see in the video that the printed audio is shifted later in the track (easy to see where he toggles between playlists). Isn't this a problem?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2010, 01:04 PM
prophonic prophonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Re: Consolidate Regions + Convert Sample Rate + Export

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
That is such a great tip from Osman! i have used it quite a lot for mastering and for VI's. and great video's showing how its done as well


Chris
Thank you Chris - in fact I should put an update as I started using pre-roll etc. which requires no user intervention for pressing the record button during printing.

It seems to work on all versions of PT 7.x and 8.x

Osman
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
192 Sample Rate Convert Touchwood Studios Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 08-21-2012 04:51 PM
Sample rate conversion & consolidate increases volume?? D'Animation Post - Surround - Video 1 02-28-2012 08:39 AM
Sample Rate Mismatch... How to export files as regions after problem. Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-24-2010 11:17 PM
Sample rate convert when bouncing.. ghost22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-04-2007 09:56 AM
BTD only way to convert to 44.1M sample rate? el biciclista 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 07-19-2001 04:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com