Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2000, 10:47 PM
tylermg1 tylermg1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: St.Louis,Mo
Posts: 2
Default HP Pavillion Model w/001

I would like to purchase 001 but I just bought a HP Pavillion model and I want to know if anybody is using one of those for 001 and if you've had any problems with compatibility.I heard they might not be compatible with each other.

Thanks


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2000, 11:39 AM
loopmusic loopmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 90
Default Re: HP Pavillion Model w/001

HP aren't recommended by digidesign; although having said that; I run Logic Platinum with a Digi001 soundcard/box with no problems... my only headache is insufficient RAM. If you specifically want to run ProTools LE, the get a SCSI card & a decent sized SCSI drive otherwise things will be troublesome.

If you are familiar with your PC, goto the start menu > run > msconfig.exe and disable all of your startup programs. This will sort out the HP enough for audio by shutting down all of those irritating apps they run in the back ground.
__________________
// Disuye Records HK
// Loopmusic Productions
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2000, 01:40 PM
tylermg1 tylermg1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: St.Louis,Mo
Posts: 2
Default Re: HP Pavillion Model w/001

Thanks for the feedback "loopmusic", Logic Audio platinum was my second choice. Do you know if the pavilion models are compatible with Platinum, have you heard anything negative?


Thanks Again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2000, 04:04 PM
TEXAS TEXAS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: lewisville, tx, usa
Posts: 14
Default Re: HP Pavillion Model w/001

I had a new hp 600 mhz 8670c and it would not work at all. I bought a Sony PCV-R556DS 700 mhz off of UBid.com for $1000, installed ProTools and have not had any problems. Just what has worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2000, 01:22 PM
loopmusic loopmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 90
Default Re: HP Pavillion Model w/001

If you are running anything less than 128Mb of RAM and push your Pavilion hard (20 tracks & rapid key commands / window changes while playback) then you get a lockup & frustrating 'lack of CPU' message...

If you leave the 'System Performance' window open in Logic while doing the above; the drives/CPU are normally nowhere near to stressing out - itz just the RAM which is holding Logic back on my HP.

Get the 256Mb RAM, Promise PCI ATA100 adapter card, an IBM Deskstar 46Gb 7200rpm audio drive and I guarantee you no troubles with Logic (4.5 or higher) and Digi001.

Happy writing

__________________
// Disuye Records HK
// Loopmusic Productions
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hp pavillion- will it work?? stevesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-05-2006 03:54 PM
HP Pavillion Computers steve312 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 12-14-2004 03:05 PM
HP Pavillion What Problems?????? artworkjamal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-25-2002 10:26 PM
HP Pavillion What Problems?????? artworkjamal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-25-2002 10:17 PM
pavillion ynot General Discussion 0 02-28-2001 01:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com