Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2017, 04:10 PM
ewsmith89 ewsmith89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
Default No output on PT12 with UAD Apollo Twin

Hey everybody, currently using a UAD Apollo Twin USB to record/monitor my tracks in Protools 12 on Windows 10 Home (64 bit). I set up some signal routing and was able to record/monitor my vocals through a condenser mic, but when it came to playback its completely silent. The routing seems to be working because all the appropriate meters are showing signal but thats it. As mentioned the UAD does fine for monitoring the mic input as well as playing any sound from iTunes, youtube, etc. so I imagine its specific to PT rather than my PC.

Also worth noting, if we change the output of our (very primitive) vocal sum (just teaching ourselves routing) to SPDIF rather than Bus 1-2 we do get playback but its way slowed down so there's that too. Updated all the UAD Drivers, Playback Engine is set to the Interface, tried deleting and re-defaulting the IO settings. Volume on the PC is up, headphones are plugged in. As mentioned we're pretty new to PT so maybe there's some silly mistake in there with the signal chains - screenshot below for reference, including Apollo Twin's Console software in case thats helpful.

Happy to provide more system specs if needed. Any insight would be much appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture1.jpg (57.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Capture2.jpg (19.4 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Capture3.jpg (30.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2017, 03:04 PM
ewsmith89 ewsmith89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
Default Re: No output on PT12 with UAD Apollo Twin

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2017, 03:33 PM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 710
Default Re: No output on PT12 with UAD Apollo Twin

The console window is too small for me to see what routing you have in there.

But...

Do you have speakers connected to your Apollo? Even without speakers connected, you should be able to play back your audio through the headphone jack.

You are sending your track to a bus, and then your bus to SPDIF? You would need to connect the SPDIF signal to a digital to analog converter, then to a preamp, then to an amp, and then to speakers, to hear it. Probably not what you are intending.

The output of your bus should likely be connected to the monitor (or main) output of your Apollo. Looks to me like you are making it too complicated.

You do have to keep track of potential feedback loops.
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2017, 03:59 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default No output on PT12 with UAD Apollo Twin

In the I/O setup in PT a pair of outputs will have a little speaker next to them, those are your monitor outs that the Apollo will get signal from. Assign your tracks to that.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apollo Twin 20% Off at GC and MF danevaz Third Party Interfaces 0 11-20-2016 11:39 AM
11R and Apollo Twin USB PatriotsBiker Eleven Rack 8 05-16-2016 12:57 PM
Apollo Twin - anyone using with First? Ormond Pro Tools | First Discussion 0 12-03-2015 11:32 AM
FS: Apollo Twin Duo whittybeats Buy & Sell 2 06-13-2015 05:22 PM
New UA Apollo Twin nst7 Third Party Interfaces 0 01-23-2014 09:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com