Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2017, 06:40 PM
Joe Courtney Joe Courtney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New Milford, CT, USA
Posts: 13
Default Question on Avid HD Native Thunderbolt Core

I am looking to do a laptop set up. I have a full HDX system in the studio but I want do a laptop setup i can use outside the studio. If I just get the HD Native Thunderbolt core box could I use the old 192 interfaces I have lying around our does it only work with the newer HD interfaces?

Any insight would be helpful, Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2017, 06:51 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,643
Default Re: Question on Avid HD Native Thunderbolt Core

Yes you can but who wants to lug around a 192 io a laptop, ilok key and external hard drive plus a HDN thunderbolt box
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2017, 06:55 PM
Joe Courtney Joe Courtney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New Milford, CT, USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: Question on Avid HD Native Thunderbolt Core

Thanks Christopher... I know what you mean, but just looking at my options
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2017, 07:14 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,198
Default Re: Question on Avid HD Native Thunderbolt Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Courtney View Post
Thanks Christopher... I know what you mean, but just looking at my options
Apogee Quartet, hmm, I mean Avid Quartet!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2017, 08:19 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,643
Default Re: Question on Avid HD Native Thunderbolt Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Apogee Quartet, hmm, I mean Avid Quartet!!
You can't use that to run HDX pcie card though.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2017, 11:05 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,249
Default Re: Question on Avid HD Native Thunderbolt Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Yes you can but who wants to lug around a 192 io a laptop, ilok key and external hard drive plus a HDN thunderbolt box
I do this all the time, except I don't carry ext.drive any longer
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2017, 09:29 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,198
Default Re: Question on Avid HD Native Thunderbolt Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
You can't use that to run HDX pcie card though.
Yeah but what advantage on the road, will an HDX be??
You need an interface, the only reason I use an interface (Omni HD), is for speakers.
I run my HDX sessions on a Mac Mini, using PTHD12 with no hardware, just headphones!!

Also use a Quartet outside studio when I need mic pres.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2017, 03:27 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,635
Default Re: Question on Avid HD Native Thunderbolt Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Yeah but what advantage on the road, will an HDX be??
You need an interface, the only reason I use an interface (Omni HD), is for speakers.
I run my HDX sessions on a Mac Mini, using PTHD12 with no hardware, just headphones!!

Also use a Quartet outside studio when I need mic pres.
Indeed! Or the small Apollo, RME or Audient interfaces(Apollo if you wish to use UAD plugins). The terms "HDX" and "portable" are rarely used in the same sentence
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2017, 10:47 PM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,328
Default Re: Question on Avid HD Native Thunderbolt Core

I have an HD Native set up with a Thunderbolt box. I so wished that you could just bring the Thunderbolt box and plug headphones in... But you can't do it. 99% of the time I just use the built in output for edits, tuning vocals etc. I bought an Apollo Twin to use for remote recording. The mic pre's are great and it's very portable. Best $500 I've spent in a while.

But like I said, most work can be done with just the built in out. It's hard to make a 192 very portable. You need another box to monitor through with a volume control. There are many more user friendly ways to go.
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-22-2017, 11:42 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,249
Default Re: Question on Avid HD Native Thunderbolt Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extreme Mixing View Post
I have an HD Native set up with a Thunderbolt box. I so wished that you could just bring the Thunderbolt box and plug headphones in... But you can't do it..
Same here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS:Avid Thunderbolt native SoundEng1 Buy & Sell 0 10-15-2016 10:41 AM
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt studioj11 Buy & Sell 2 10-19-2014 04:54 PM
Core Audio Problem - HD Native Thunderbolt w HD OMNI ozanesen Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 07-03-2014 03:55 AM
Anyone using New Mac Pro with Avid Thunderbolt Native box? johnnyv Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 06-10-2014 07:14 AM
HD Native Thunderbolt Qualification - Avid? Ginger Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 8 06-11-2013 11:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com