Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2015, 06:38 AM
ErixAdventures ErixAdventures is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3
Default start Qlab with user button on profile

I am running Qlab 3 on a mac mini on the FW interface in my mixrack
how can i make Qlab start by pressing the user button ?

thnx.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2015, 07:16 AM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: start Qlab with user button on profile

In the events page, you can create a new event, set the trigger to be the user key. The action triggered can be anything that will get a message into Qlab. Easiest would be to have the action trigger a snapshot that fires a midi message. Then set Qlab to start upon receiving that midi message.

Other options could include a similar approach but firing off a GPO relay if you have a way of receiving that in Qlab.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2015, 11:58 PM
ErixAdventures ErixAdventures is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3
Default Re: start Qlab with user button on profile

OK thank you i will try this
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2015, 01:04 AM
ErixAdventures ErixAdventures is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3
Default Re: start Qlab with user button on profile

i tried it with an event and trigger with the user button and try to set it in Qlab with the capture function but will not work. the only way to start Qlab is with a snapshot recall with MTC switched on.
i can make a snapshot recall trigger with the user button and trigger Qlab this way but i like to start/stop Qlab without snapshots
also i like to make Qlab fader start in a channel that is in recall safe.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2015, 04:50 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: start Qlab with user button on profile

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErixAdventures View Post
i can make a snapshot recall trigger with the user button and trigger Qlab this way but i like to start/stop Qlab without snapshots
You can only send midi messages out with snapshots only, there is no way for you to control your QLab directly with F-keys. I'm starting to forget how Profile works, but at least on S3L you can send direct transport messages to Pro Tools using F-Keys and Events. So you might be better off using Pro Tools instead of Q-Lab, depending on what you need to do. Fader start/stop is also not a problem with PT system.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2015, 07:55 AM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: start Qlab with user button on profile

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErixAdventures View Post
i tried it with an event and trigger with the user button and try to set it in Qlab with the capture function but will not work. the only way to start Qlab is with a snapshot recall with MTC switched on.
i can make a snapshot recall trigger with the user button and trigger Qlab this way but i like to start/stop Qlab without snapshots
also i like to make Qlab fader start in a channel that is in recall safe.
Well, another alternative is to use the console GPO relays. You can set an function/user key to trigger an event to fire a GPO relay, or several actually for start/stop/etc. There are aftermarket solutions from Midi Solutions and others for converting those relay states to midi messages, but it would be quite trivial to do with a simple microcontroller, particularly a Teensy. The GPO db25 pinout is detailed in the Profile manual and works very well for this sort of thing.

EDIT: Also, Profile can send ProTools transport messages from either snapshots or function keys (I presume its in the form of Midi Machine Code, but I haven't tried it.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start Button Does Not Start PT Running 2hip2b4real macOS 2 03-11-2012 09:35 PM
Suggestion for User Profile Polyester General Discussion 4 06-03-2000 02:05 AM
DUC User profile Fokke van Saane Tips & Tricks 2 12-14-1999 03:31 PM
user profile mrmxed General Discussion 1 03-16-1998 01:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com