Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-10-2014, 08:32 AM
Rosco1969 Rosco1969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 423
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

LOL... don't hold your breath!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-10-2014, 08:35 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,630
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Hahah - Soon
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-10-2014, 08:40 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,310
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

My understanding is that AAX-DSP code also will run native so if they are recoding everything from scratch, it probably is going to be DSP, assuming that's possible for a given plug.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-10-2014, 11:22 AM
treason treason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 233
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

I'm hoping that I'm reading in between the lines correctly when I read of delays associated with recoding the plugs to 1)run in a new common framework 2) be more resource efficient. I'm hoping those two efforts are designed to spread out their offerings across both AAX-Native and AAX-DSP. I can't imagine why they'd be last to the AAX table unless they had a "surprise" for us up their sleeve. In my opinion, adding AAX-DSP to their offerings would really propel them solidly into position as "THE PRO OFFERING" on the Pro Tools platform.

That hoped for - I would love to get updated from Steven/Fabrice on their current musings on AAX-DSP.
__________________
T-
-----
Waterstreet Studio Main: MacPro 2012 (12C@3.46GHz), 48GB, Apple/Samsung SSDs, WD Blacks. macOS 13.3
DSP & IO : Pro Tools HDX2(2018.3), 2x UAD Octo, HDIO 16x16 Analog IO(3), HDIO 16x16 Digital IO
Plugins: Avid, DMG Audio, Kush, oeksound, P'n'T, Plugin Alliance, Softube, SoundTheory, Sonnox, Sound Radix, SoundToys, UAD, VEP, etc
Hardware: API, Chandler, Hardy, Moog, Neve, Shadow Hills, Smart, Summit, TC Electronic M6000, UREI, etc
Microphones: Telefunken, Neumann, Shure, AKG
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-10-2014, 11:27 AM
Mike496's Avatar
Mike496 Mike496 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 339
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by treason View Post
I'm hoping that I'm reading in between the lines correctly when I read of delays associated with recoding the plugs to 1)run in a new common framework 2) be more resource efficient. I'm hoping those two efforts are designed to spread out their offerings across both AAX-Native and AAX-DSP. I can't imagine why they'd be last to the AAX table unless they had a "surprise" for us up their sleeve. In my opinion, adding AAX-DSP to their offerings would really propel them solidly into position as "THE PRO OFFERING" on the Pro Tools platform.

That hoped for - I would love to get updated from Steven/Fabrice on their current musings on AAX-DSP.
I couldn't agree more!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-10-2014, 12:02 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Hahah - Soon
It's so soon that it's negative. VTM was slated (ha) for Feb 20th. The T in VTM stands for "time"
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-10-2014, 05:58 PM
WombatStudio.Org's Avatar
WombatStudio.Org WombatStudio.Org is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gibbsboro, NJ
Posts: 527
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Via Facebook Feb 6th:

Slate Digital LLC: The new VCC 2 is gonna be killer guys! We're working on it. New features, new FREE console, FREE update! Thanks for your patience, it'll be worth it!

Is the current VBC DSP? I thought that was their "flagship" new framework plugin - that would tell you something, yes?
__________________
WombatStudio.Org • Digital Recording, Mixing and Mastering in Gibbsboro, NJ • USA
"It's not the gear ... it's the ear"
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-11-2014, 07:44 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,630
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WombatStudio.Org View Post
The new VCC 2 is gonna be killer guys! We're working on it. New features, new FREE console, FREE update! Thanks for your patience, it'll be worth it!

Nice I didn't know - I don't think I've liked them on FB - I appreciate the info
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-12-2014, 10:55 AM
treason treason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 233
Default Re: Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WombatStudio.Org View Post
Via Facebook Feb 6th:

Slate Digital LLC: The new VCC 2 is gonna be killer guys! We're working on it. New features, new FREE console, FREE update! Thanks for your patience, it'll be worth it!

Is the current VBC DSP? I thought that was their "flagship" new framework plugin - that would tell you something, yes?
I'm hoping that since the latest VBC is still "in beta", that Slate is testing the framework and limiting variables to AAX-Native only. Since developers like McDSP (I think they are about the same size shop) had AAX-DSP running quickly, yet sacrificed plug preset compatibility for delivery speed (while UAD chose the opposite - providing plug compatibility RTAS->AAX), I'm hoping Slate is looking at plug compat, Framework optimization as well as algorithm tweaking such that the desired Algorithm Efficiencies translate well to AAX-DSP.

Again - I'm reading smoke signals, and that smoke might be hallucinatory inducing. I have absolutely no Slate knowledge nor contact with Slate or Slate Digital.

Steven/Fabrice - what is the AAX-DSP thinking almost 2 years since commitment?
__________________
T-
-----
Waterstreet Studio Main: MacPro 2012 (12C@3.46GHz), 48GB, Apple/Samsung SSDs, WD Blacks. macOS 13.3
DSP & IO : Pro Tools HDX2(2018.3), 2x UAD Octo, HDIO 16x16 Analog IO(3), HDIO 16x16 Digital IO
Plugins: Avid, DMG Audio, Kush, oeksound, P'n'T, Plugin Alliance, Softube, SoundTheory, Sonnox, Sound Radix, SoundToys, UAD, VEP, etc
Hardware: API, Chandler, Hardy, Moog, Neve, Shadow Hills, Smart, Summit, TC Electronic M6000, UREI, etc
Microphones: Telefunken, Neumann, Shure, AKG
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-12-2014, 11:37 AM
groundcontrol's Avatar
groundcontrol groundcontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 961
Default Slate Digital AAX-DSP?

For my part I think they *really* need to do their homework on the optimization front.

They skiped that part last time around. What is the real value of a plug-in that is truely best-of-class audio-wise if I end up not using it because of its too high demands on my cpu.

Other shops can make their stuff run much more efficiently on the same cpus...
__________________
Can you please send yourself over fiber to go spam some other forum?

Darryl Ramm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slate digital vtm JLC AAX Plug-ins 8 01-20-2014 09:03 AM
Tracking with Slate Digital VCC Rosco1969 macOS 3 01-05-2014 04:14 AM
Slate Digital And UAD Where Are You ??? kimballob AAX Plug-ins 11 11-23-2013 10:41 PM
Slate Digital and Steven Slate Drums AAX DHL AAX Plug-ins 6 04-22-2013 12:50 PM
slate digital VCC appledude General Discussion 5 12-03-2011 07:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com