Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2013, 08:30 PM
sietzsounds sietzsounds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 2
Default PT 10 suddenly wont open - windows 7

Hey guys. Trying to launch PT 10 express. I get an error message saying:

Unable to locate hardware. Make sure your hardware is connected and turned on. Click "OK" when the hardware is ready.

Haven't tried opening protools in a few weeks, has always worked in the past. Suddenly stopped working.

Things I've tried:

re-installing latest mbox mini drivers
ejected ilok & re-mounted ilok - re-syncing ilok protools license
re-downloaded latest pt 10 express, and re-installed.

blue light is lit on the mbox, and my itunes plays thru mbox fine.

I'm running pt 10 express (latest version) on windows 7.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanx!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2013, 05:28 AM
Dilemma509 Dilemma509 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 8
Default Re: PT 10 suddenly wont open - windows 7

I have this issue pop up once in a while, and usually a restart fixes it

this error has plagued pro tools for the last 3 releases and im rly not sure why its so difficult for avid to fix stupid little errors like this
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2013, 07:48 AM
sietzsounds sietzsounds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT 10 suddenly wont open - windows 7

ok I got it working now....
had to completely uninstall the mbox mini driver & re-install software & driver from scratch.... simply 'updating driver' didnt do the trick....
and another work around will probably be leaving the mbox plugged in always even when not in use... plugging in an mbox after a week or so always gives me problems....

protools - best program ever.... but most frustrating system to use. ugh.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2013, 02:03 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,635
Default Re: PT 10 suddenly wont open - windows 7

Next time, try holding the N key while opening Pro Tools. That takes you straight to the Audio Engine selection window where you would check to see if the Mbox is the selected engine(aka hardware). Glad you got it going
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 9.02 wont open in windows 7 plz help! shamanrock Windows 11 04-21-2011 01:56 PM
Suddenly can't open any manuals! tombliss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 12-16-2010 11:26 AM
Pro Tools 8 Session Suddenly Will Not Open?? Mitchzizzle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-22-2010 05:46 PM
Session suddenly won't open... theartofshredding 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-13-2008 05:44 PM
Mbox wont launch suddenly-just like that! 1977 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-19-2005 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com