Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2012, 06:01 AM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 712
Default Soundtoys AAX news...

Hi,

Soundtoys has posted some news about AAX development on their facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/SoundToys

SoundToys
64bit in progress, and making headway. We have kept an eye on aspects of 64bit that cross over to AAX so when we're done with 64bit, we will be able to leap into AAX. AAX(DSP) is not in development. That will be on hold until we are done with 64bit. Once we begin AAX native, we will make the decision of doing or not doing AAX DSP, but right now, it's not in progress. That doesn't mean we won't do it, it just means we have to finish other things before making that decision.

I suggest that those who want to see Soundtoys AAX DSP in the future let them know that it's important. I would like to have Soundtoys DSP plugins available when i'll buy my new HDX rig for sure!

Thanks...

Luc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2012, 07:01 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,088
Default Re: Soundtoys AAX news...

I'm astounded that professional companies like Soundtoys are not embracing the AAX=DSP market. From Avid's point of view, porting AAX Native to AAX DSP is a simple job and not a daunting task like RTAS to TDM.

There is something awry here. First Waves, now Soundtoys.

Time to find a good Echoboy DSP replacement.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2012, 08:20 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,875
Default Re: Soundtoys AAX news...

Without AAX DSP, I'll be pretty much done with Soundtoys.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2012, 08:36 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Soundtoys AAX news...

I think companies are waiting to see what happens to AAX DSP. I mean its future really depends on HDX sales. The vast majority of plugin developers seems to be cautious.

Although Waves seems to have less importance these days, their decision to not (yet) support DSP AAX may have a big impact on the others. Of course I can be completely wrong about this.

All in all, there are very few companies around who clearly expressed that they will support this new DSP platform. I hope many will.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:47 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,317
Default Re: Soundtoys AAX news...

I really hope they don't kill soundblender, but unfortunately, I think the writing is on the wall. My guess is that since they never wanted to make an RTAS version of soundblender, we won't see an AAX native version of it either... and if we don't get an AAX native version....
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:48 AM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,072
Default Re: Soundtoys AAX news...

I think this is ominous news. Not a fan of Digi/Avid plugs.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:54 AM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 712
Default Re: Soundtoys AAX news...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy_Boy View Post
I'm astounded that professional companies like Soundtoys are not embracing the AAX=DSP market. From Avid's point of view, porting AAX Native to AAX DSP is a simple job and not a daunting task like RTAS to TDM.

There is something awry here. First Waves, now Soundtoys.

Time to find a good Echoboy DSP replacement.
They did not say they wont do it. So it's important to make them know we want it!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:56 AM
SHIRK SHIRK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 206
Default Re: Soundtoys AAX news...

Yeah, this is not good news. I really miss my Echoboy in DSP.

I'll definitely be voicing my opinion with SoundToys.
__________________
SHIRK

www.shirkmusic.com
www.hearya.com

MacPro 12core 2.66Gh Westmere
OSX v10.7.5
20GB RAM
1x HDX
2x HD i/o 16x16, 1x Digi192 8in/16out
PT HD v10.3.7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2012, 11:37 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,701
Default Re: Soundtoys AAX news...

Quote:
Originally Posted by StewartFang View Post
Goodbye Soundtoys. It was pretty fun, but i could care less. I love being Waveless and Im pretty sure I can find clipping/saturation and tape delay elsewhere.

The only thing non DSP on sessions now is reverb...Izotope bye. Waves...Bye...soundtoys...say hi to URS for us will ya?

Hillarious how these companies think that getting rid of pro sales and catering to a base that will hack and steal your product in the wink of an eye, will be profitable down the road.

Whatevs.
Good luck finding an AAX DSP vintage/vibey delay plug-in.... And a non-Avid reverb, flanger or phaser that's any good or the Eventide character stuff.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2012, 01:29 PM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,072
Default Re: Soundtoys AAX news...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Good luck finding an AAX DSP vintage/vibey delay plug-in.... And a non-Avid reverb, flanger or phaser that's any good or the Eventide character stuff.
I agree. Why go DSP if the list of plug-ins (and some GREAT ones) aren't available. We have ALWAYS upgraded to the latest PT software and hardware, but we are staying with TDM until we see what happens with plug-ins. It is not unusual for us to have to redo a TV piece a year or 2 later......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: SoundToys TDM V3 Audio_Vision Buy & Sell 3 12-05-2012 05:37 PM
AIR Blog - Bad News... Good News RussUK Virtual Instruments 3 04-01-2009 04:19 AM
SoundToys Soundtrack2life Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 01-18-2009 03:54 PM
Good News and Bad News....original Mbox & Pt Le 6.4 captain54 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 11-02-2007 10:52 PM
New SoundToys for LE Arteksound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 04-26-2006 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com