Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2012, 07:48 AM
7usainarab 7usainarab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 13
Thumbs down Waves Audio AAX DSP ??

Why did not adopt the Company Waves Audio Plugins AAX DSP now

www.waves.com

HDX system been more than 7 months

Waves company is one of the best companies and most important companies

So far, no Plugins are supported AAX DSP

When


Thanks & Regards
__________________
Mac Pro Quad-Core 8 Intel Xeon 2.4
Mac OS X 10.7.4
Avid Pro Tools HDX
Avid C24
Avid I/O 16*16
  #2  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:28 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: Waves Audio AAX DSP

ask them
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
  #3  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:45 AM
7usainarab 7usainarab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 13
Thumbs down Re: Waves Audio AAX DSP

this company Waves Audio

Hi,

Waves V9 plugins are supported on Pro Tools 10 via RTAS, AudioSuite, and TDM. AAX is not officially supported at this time.

AAX Native will be supported at a later date, but this development will still take more time. Waves has no plans to support AAX DSP at this time.

Thanks
__________________
Mac Pro Quad-Core 8 Intel Xeon 2.4
Mac OS X 10.7.4
Avid Pro Tools HDX
Avid C24
Avid I/O 16*16
  #4  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:52 AM
7usainarab 7usainarab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 13
Default Re: Waves Audio AAX DSP

I see AVID company should speed up the pressure on the company Waves
__________________
Mac Pro Quad-Core 8 Intel Xeon 2.4
Mac OS X 10.7.4
Avid Pro Tools HDX
Avid C24
Avid I/O 16*16
  #5  
Old 06-06-2012, 06:47 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,700
Default Re: Waves Audio AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7usainarab View Post
I see AVID company should speed up the pressure on the company Waves
I agree. If Waves don't do an AAX DSP version I very much doubt I'll be upgrading to HDX. No Virus Indigo, Amp/Echo Farm AND Waves DSP = little incentive.

....And I wonder how fast these new Mac Pros will be?

Honestly Avid, you need to PAY Waves to do an AAX DSP version.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
  #6  
Old 06-06-2012, 07:00 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Waves Audio AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Honestly Avid, you need to PAY Waves to do an AAX DSP version.
You're kidding, right?

Waves would take a huge hit if they suddenly stopped supporting Pro Tools. It's in neither company's interest.

Plenty of other companies already on board... in fact, Waves is pretty much the only major plugin dev who isn't.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
  #7  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:47 AM
Fooks Fooks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Waterman
Posts: 172
Default Re: Waves Audio AAX DSP

I've been reading the posts on here, and I've seen people saying, "Avid you should pay Waves to make AAX DSP" and "if Waves doesn't support AAX DSP, there is no reason for me to upgrade to HDX"............WHAT THE HELL!!!??? Do you people really think it is Waves plugins that make your mixes sound good? If that is what you think, you better get a different day job. Don't get me wrong, Waves makes a fantastic plugin. But there are other companies that make plugins that sound just as good, McDSP, UAD, AVID, etc., there is no other company that makes a complete system of DSP processing like Avid!! I'm not just talking plugin DSP, but the whole thing, plugins, mixing, I/O, who else does that? Nobody!! If you like Pro Tools TDM and it is rock solid, then keep it. Don't blame Avid because Waves has a stick up their ass about making AAX DSP plugins, blame Waves. If you want to move to HDX (because you see the benefits of the power of the card) move to HDX and look into some other plugins. Pro Tools is the base, or foundation of the system, the plugins are the finishing touches. You wouldn't eat a cake made out of dog [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] if the frosting was Betty Crocker chocolate frosting. As far as the other comment about paying Waves.......... Duh! That's like Mcdonalds paying me to eat a Big Mac, sure that is good for me, but not good business for McDonalds. Some people should not be in this business or even doing the hobby if all they are going to do is spew nonsense, which makes the rest of the professionals look bad!
__________________
That is bunches of crunch!
  #8  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:49 AM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 495
Default Re: Waves Audio AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
Arrogance is blind, deaf and dumb.
Well said (technically "Well written" ) and quite true!
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 5.1, 8-Core Xeon 2.93GHz, 24 GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, HDX2, PT2018 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 Quad Satellites (v9.x) 2x HD I/Os, 1x Omni HD I/O, C|24 Control Surface
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2018 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
  #9  
Old 06-07-2012, 08:08 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Waves Audio AAX DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fooks View Post
I've been reading the posts on here, and I've seen people saying, "Avid you should pay Waves to make AAX DSP" and "if Waves doesn't support AAX DSP, there is no reason for me to upgrade to HDX"............WHAT THE HELL!!!??? Do you people really think it is Waves plugins that make your mixes sound good? If that is what you think, you better get a different day job. Don't get me wrong, Waves makes a fantastic plugin. But there are other companies that make plugins that sound just as good, McDSP, UAD, AVID, etc., there is no other company that makes a complete system of DSP processing like Avid!! I'm not just talking plugin DSP, but the whole thing, plugins, mixing, I/O, who else does that? Nobody!! If you like Pro Tools TDM and it is rock solid, then keep it. Don't blame Avid because Waves has a stick up their ass about making AAX DSP plugins, blame Waves. If you want to move to HDX (because you see the benefits of the power of the card) move to HDX and look into some other plugins. Pro Tools is the base, or foundation of the system, the plugins are the finishing touches. You wouldn't eat a cake made out of dog [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] if the frosting was Betty Crocker chocolate frosting. As far as the other comment about paying Waves.......... Duh! That's like Mcdonalds paying me to eat a Big Mac, sure that is good for me, but not good business for McDonalds. Some people should not be in this business or even doing the hobby if all they are going to do is spew nonsense, which makes the rest of the professionals look bad!
You got it.

If you can't make a decent mix with just the stock plugins, you need a new profession. The tools don't make the engineer. A carpenter isn't going to throw out his hammer because his favourite brand of nails stops making them.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
  #10  
Old 06-07-2012, 08:32 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,088
Default Re: Waves Audio AAX DSP

It's not that simple. I have a bunch of sessions that are loaded with Waves plugins and while I'm remixing with mostly Softube, and a few Waves RTAS, the fact remains that I'm VERY familiar with the Waves Mercury bundle and I have to go through a process that took years to develop.

Another truth which is being stated several times is that "without Waves AAX-DSP I'm not buying HDX". this is clearly hurting HDX sales, Waves understands that and must be asking, without AVID incentives, why should they pay to promote HDX? If Waves will sell HDX, AVID has, for better or worse, a partner that needs to be adressed. And this means compensation for the expected increase in HDX sales. Standard business.

Like electric cars, if the car companies don't assist with the cost of power stations, nobody will buy electric cars.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
audio and waves don't match sierra2010 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-28-2008 08:02 AM
Waves IR-L stops passing audio??? SHIRK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-30-2006 08:02 PM
Has anyone bought a PC from "Digital Audio Waves" jadedstate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-24-2005 08:38 PM
Waves Audio Processing Accelerators scotsman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 06-10-2005 12:08 AM
002 Core Audio Driver & Waves for OSX Musepro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-08-2003 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com