Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2012, 09:11 PM
Peterjk's Avatar
Peterjk Peterjk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 331
Default MDW Massenburg EQ for AAX

Hi Avid,

When will you release the AAX version of Massenburg's MDW EQ as I understand that it is already programmed and ready for release?

Also will it be a paid or free upgrade for existing users.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2012, 12:56 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 807
Default

Good question
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2012, 11:48 AM
Neil Pickles Neil Pickles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 257
Default Good news everybody MDW EQ AAX DSP ...soon

From the GML facebook

"George Massenburg Labs I'm pleased to say (I'll let Avid do the official announcement) that MDWEQ5-AAX will be available shortly from Avid. the DSP implementation is second-to-none, with the lowest measured noise & artifact using all-double-precision math. please check with Avid for details.
George"

So Sonnox have released the first 2 of theirs and it looks like there will be more soon as well.

MDW EQ is great news I'm having to run it RTAS at the moment kills my flow.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2012, 04:03 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: Good news everybody MDW EQ AAX DSP ...soon

Just did a upgrade to v.3 to get RTAS for HDX.
Wonder what the upgrade to AAX will cost!?!
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.13, PT2018, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2012, 04:28 AM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 495
Default Re: Good news everybody MDW EQ AAX DSP ...soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfgang Eller View Post
Wonder what the upgrade to AAX will cost!?!
Yup; knowing Avid's pricing I'd expect something around 500€.
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 5.1, 8-Core Xeon 2.93GHz, 24 GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, HDX2, PT2018 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 Quad Satellites (v9.x) 2x HD I/Os, 1x Omni HD I/O, C|24 Control Surface
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2018 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2012, 12:46 PM
Neil Pickles Neil Pickles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 257
Default Re: Good news everybody MDW EQ AAX DSP ...soon

I don't want to pay a tonne of money either, but also I don't expect it to be free. It needs re coding ergo man hours, I don't work for free and neither should a PI programmer working on a new version. They gotta eat too!

I agree it shouldn't be crazy, but the Sonnox prices aren't that bad for something that'll then last you for a few years really. In fact I've sat on my last version of that EQ for years, I think I paid some kind of upgrade back with the UB switch. Really divide it by the days youll get out of it and it's like a few pence a day is it really so bad?

Lets wait and see what Avid/MDW actually want before jumping the gun and setting phasers for kill on the assumption it'll be unreasonable as opposed to the facts



Disclaimer if they do charge 500dollars launch the photon torpedoes + the phasers and ignore this post (but I suspect it wont be unreasonable and that's my point)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2012, 12:57 PM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: Good news everybody MDW EQ AAX DSP ...soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Pickles View Post
I don't want to pay a tonne of money either, but also I don't expect it to be free.
The point is, that the upgrade to v.3 was the same price if you had v.2 or v.1.

So I expect that the upgrade to AAX is the same price for v.2 and v.3.

But to use the EQ in HDX you have to go to v.3!

There was no other reason for upgrading to v.3. So I hope the upgrade fee for v.3 is cheaper than for v.2 otherwise I would have paid twice.

With McDSP and v.5 you will get the AAX Plugins for free!
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.13, PT2018, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2012, 01:17 PM
Neil Pickles Neil Pickles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 257
Default Re: Good news everybody MDW EQ AAX DSP ...soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfgang Eller View Post
The point is, that the upgrade to v.3 was the same price if you had v.2 or v.1.

So I expect that the upgrade to AAX is the same price for v.2 and v.3.

But to use the EQ in HDX you have to go to v.3!

There was no other reason for upgrading to v.3. So I hope the upgrade fee for v.3 is cheaper than for v.2 otherwise I would have paid twice.

With McDSP and v.5 you will get the AAX Plugins for free!
Ah I'd already gone to V3 as I needed the RTAS in addition to the TDM for specific job. I see what you mean, you may have a very short lived and very redundant step, that you may have to pay again, that is not fun at all, but my point is also we don't know what the pricing will be and we're jumping down peoples throats.

McDSP did charge for V5 (very reasonable) but they have also been selling V5 upgrades to people since Oct 2011 on the incentive that you will get AAX in it so they are charging or using that benefit as a sales tool. Great company by the way. They historically tried not to charge for upgrades and didn't for many years, but have had to change in recent years. Interesting article here

http://www.coolstufflabs.com/consequences.html

which gives us all some perspective on why PI manufacturers are increasingly having to do this. (adopt a WUP type approach or an upgrade price) The legitimate users like us end up paying more because others are getting the tools we pay for for free.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-17-2012, 02:05 AM
Peterjk's Avatar
Peterjk Peterjk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 331
Default Re: MDW Massenburg EQ for AAX

GREAT NEWS

I got this from Tony Cariddi @ Avid on the 6th of July.

Quote:
Hi Peter,

Congratulations on your HDX upgrade--very exciting indeed. I understand your need for that EQ, it's amazing.

The MDW eq will be ready for download soon--probably within a few days. When its posted we'll announce the upgrade price.

Enjoy the new rig.

Best regards,
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-18-2012, 05:41 PM
nwilson@hns.com nwilson@hns.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Diego
Posts: 345
Default Re: MDW Massenburg EQ for AAX

Funny, the MDW rev 5 was on the AAX pages on the Avid site yesterday (description page, but wasn't in the store yet) and gone today..

Guessing the Avid store wasn't ready to accept orders and downloads yet...

It will be nice to get the AAX version...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Massenburg MDW Hi Res 3.0 Samscasa macOS 0 05-30-2012 04:27 PM
10.1.3 took Massenburg EQ Sam C macOS 3 04-30-2012 04:53 AM
massenburg eq bug dawkab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 02-11-2006 12:14 AM
Massenburg EQ vs Sony with massenburg mod Rectifried Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-09-2003 12:15 AM
Massenburg PT EQ ? haze Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-10-2002 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com