Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2008, 04:06 PM
dacapo dacapo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Default Session Template Questions

2 things:

1) When i open a stationary pad session template and choose Create New Session, it opens a new session as expected, but also in the same location as the Session template, it makes a copy of the session (session template copy 1) as well. Is there a way to make this not happen?

2) I have a session template that i want to always have some stock audio in every session. I work in post and i have a timed 2 pop for a specific series as well as some title card music and theme song that i want in every session that i open from the template. Now when i open a new session from the template. the audio is there but it's not in the New session Audio folder, it's in the Session Template Audio folder. Is there a way to make it so that every time i open a new session from this template that the audio in the session is copied to the new session's audio folder?

Hope it's clear what i'm asking. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2008, 07:30 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Session Template Questions

i have my template in its folder ready to go

when i want to start a new tune

i copy the folder (which includes a 7 min wav of smpte and a kick and snare sample i did for click loop groove

the session will have the name of the original so it will need to be re named.

i have no idea if other work this way but
this has always worked wonderfully for me
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2008, 07:33 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Session Template Questions

1) how are you opening the template? creating a new session then importing the template should work


2) importing all from the template would work but, also I keep templates w/ 1k @ -20 dBFS for bars in the Shared users folder, inside of a read only folder, and have the system drive set to Transfer in the Workspace
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2008, 02:02 AM
AKA AKA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Amsterdam , NL
Posts: 115
Default Re: Session Template Questions

We have a similar scenarion here, how we deal with it is :
Create a new session, and than import the template session - into the newly created session (inc. audio).

easy.
__________________
DesignInSound
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:40 AM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,186
Default Re: Session Template Questions

1) When you open the template, do so from within ProTools (using the “Open…” command) and not by double-clicking the template in the finder.

2) When invoking the “Import Session Data” command, pay attention to the settings found in the “Audio Media Options” area of the window. The pop-up menu offers three fairly self-explanatory options. “Copy From Source Media” or “Consolidate From Source Media” are what you want. (For more, see pg. 268 of the PT 7.4 Reference Guide.)

IHTH.
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-24-2008, 11:03 AM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Session Template Questions

I create a template session. Every time I want to create a new session, I simply duplicate that folder and rename the folder and session file in Finder?
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2008, 11:19 AM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,186
Default Re: Session Template Questions

Nothing wrong with that, Barry. I try to perform as many disk-related tasks entirely within ProTools, under the impression that this helps with the application’s upkeep of its database files.

IHTH.

__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:02 PM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: Session Template Questions

Pro Tools Import Tracks feature is so good that I don't even make templates anymore.

I just import the tracks and window configurations that I want.

Saving I/O setings is important though.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:54 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,356
Default Re: Session Template Questions

Quote:
1) When i open a stationary pad session template and choose Create New Session, it opens a new session as expected, but also in the same location as the Session template, it makes a copy of the session (session template copy 1) as well. Is there a way to make this not happen?
Another way around this is to drag n drop your template session onto your PT alias in the dock, that way no annoying "copy" in your folder

b.o.l.
e
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-25-2008, 06:22 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Session Template Questions

Here's still another way:

Create template and dbl click from the Workspace Browser.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing a mix session template into a record edit session bryced87 macOS 1 04-27-2012 04:24 AM
How...Create New session with Session Template TDelmar Tips & Tricks 5 10-22-2008 08:29 PM
session template in PT LE 7.0 Joe Jewell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-26-2006 06:15 PM
My Remote25/CS10 template=last questions. seth666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-07-2006 08:25 PM
2 Questions; converting session template S/R... max cooper 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-09-2005 04:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com