Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2008, 12:46 PM
dunebuggy dunebuggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: montreal
Posts: 50
Default Locking a session

Hi guys

Is there a way to prevent from opening youre session by other users , for privacy purposes.

I know it s a weird question but i m curious
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2008, 01:36 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Locking a session

There are a couple of things you can do.
You can lock the file from the workspace browser and after you quit and restart the file is locked.
However, you can easily unlock it if you know how.
The same goes to change the access of the file to "No Access"
If someone wants to get into it badly enough and they know how to change it back then there is little you can do.
It sounds like you are sharing a space. Why not just keep it on a separate hard drive. Or save your work (session) as a "save as" and keep it on a flash drive?
Just a couple of thoughts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2008, 01:58 PM
dunebuggy dunebuggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: montreal
Posts: 50
Default Re: Locking a session

Thanks for the reply

Yeah, it s a sharing thing ,i guess i ll go with the no access as a starter...

good idea
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2008, 03:23 PM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: Locking a session

It is possible to create an archive of the file with a password or you can also create a disk image of the session and Files that is password protected with Disk utility.
By far the simplest way to do it it to use a drive and take it with you or lock it up.
my 2c

Simon L.
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locking Up When Opening Another Session rmeany 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-15-2010 03:51 PM
Question: Auto-locking and Mute locking Charles Deenen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-25-2010 01:07 PM
Import Session Data - locking up PT Farmer Dave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-19-2004 01:18 AM
Locking files in the region list even though they're not used in the session..Anyone? El CaCa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-24-2003 06:55 PM
PT LE 501 locking up bvleugels 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-03-2002 06:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com