Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2005, 10:12 AM
liquid32 liquid32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack?

Hi,
I am planning to buy a 002 rack system, but am having trouble deciding if it is worthwhile to upgrade and get the Factory bundle from the get-go? If I upgrade later to HD, then aren't all of those plug-ins redundant (ie; they are included with that system).

Or am I being silly because I probably won't upgrade that way anyway for a project studio.

All opinions are welcome, as I am having a tough time deciding what I really need to run Pro Tools or even if I need Pro Tools.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2005, 11:11 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,088
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack?

The factory bundle is OK but I don't use it. I got all the plugs and more with my HD3 system and I still don't use the Bomb Factory plugins. URS, UAD, and a few others get me where I want to go. The BF stuff doesn't. But for the price I still believe it is a worthwhile purchase since the BF plugs are better than many of the base Digirack plugins and it will get you going for a while until you get that "I want more ' feeling.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:26 PM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack?

HI,

maybe you´d like to consider spending the $400 on McDSP and Compressor- and Filterbank LE and get right to the top of plugs, than getting some tools that your might get over with after a rather short time.

and on sweetwater.com it´s even cheaper and free shipping.

IMHO the Factory bundle WAS quite worthwhile, until the McDSP put their LE versions out.

regs
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2005, 01:54 PM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack?

I hardly use anything out of the Factory Bundle except the Tel-Ray, but that one I had since way back, however I'm considering to buy the Big McDSP package although I'm not planning to go to HD, since that makes it even more of a "Sure thing". Look carefully at the difference between LE and TDM before you buy the McDSP LE-version.
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2005, 03:29 PM
liquid32 liquid32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack?

Ahh this all makes a lot of sense...for the $4oo you guys think that it might be better to buy something outside that will help in the long run that I might not get. Brilliant.

Now I just have to decide if the Rack will meet my needs.

Liquid32
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2005, 03:29 PM
liquid32 liquid32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack?

Ahh this all makes a lot of sense...for the $4oo you guys think that it might be better to buy something outside that will help in the long run that I might not get. Brilliant.

Now I just have to decide if the Rack will meet my needs.

Liquid32
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2005, 07:55 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,708
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack?

The Waves Native Power pack is also a good replacement for the Factory Bundle (for an 002 Factory Bundle), at least you get another reverb with the NPP, which you don't with the Facotry Bundles.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-07-2005, 09:36 PM
Rellim Rellim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 40
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack?

I have Wave$ and you should save your money for the best... you can upgrade to TDM. Don't buy anything until you use the demos, and let your ears decide.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-07-2005, 11:38 PM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack?

First of all, the Waves plugins and the BF plugins are different animals all togehter and very hard to compare - I have both. Before you buy ANYTHING from Waves make sure you understand everything about the WUP-plan!!!! The Native Powerpack is a RTAS/Audiosuite package only and it will cost you quite a lot to eventually upgrade it to the TDM-version, should you later go HD2. The only plugin from Waves I have a hard time to replace is the L2 (since I don't have the L3). McDSP states clearly that you can expect upgrades for a period of time - Waves just changed foot from one day to another without communicating with it's users! These plugins are all extremely good (and don't forget Sony...), just make an informed descision...
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-08-2005, 02:43 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack or Factory Rack?

Quote:
Before you buy ANYTHING from Waves make sure you understand everything about the WUP-plan!!!!
...registration policies...

heed the words, if you´re a hobbyist it can very well be that the WUP "subscription" won´t pay for you.

regs


PS: the reason I always push this is that Waves policies are UNIQUE to any other plug-ins company.
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Urgent: Need help with Digi 003 Rack Factory Schumannz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 09-07-2011 04:45 AM
Input for DIGI 003 Rack Factory themick7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-07-2008 09:36 PM
Digi 003 Rack vs. Factory? Mike Borok 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-14-2007 01:38 PM
Logic Pro with Digi Rack 003 Factory mvhj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-25-2007 07:52 AM
Digi 002 Rack Factory Bundle Hogie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 04-19-2005 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com