Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2019, 02:07 PM
crazy_ow crazy_ow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
Default Omni power light always orange

I've upgraded from 11 HD to 12.5 HD this week and everything is working great except the power light on my Omni. For some reason doesn't turn green when it's connected to Pro Tools anymore?

I'm running a Avid Omni and HD Native card in a 2010 PowerMac, I'm on Pro Tools 12.5 on OSX 10.11.6 and have checked the Omni with Digitest to make sure the firmware is up to date.

Everything works fine the light just doesn't turn green. I did try and do a firmware update of the same firmware with the HD driver but half way through it crashed and the omni stopped working. To get it working again I had to go back to my old Pro Tools 11 HD drive and run digitest from the HD 11 driver to install the firmware again.

Has anyone else had this issue and have any ideas on how to fix it? The light goes green when I'm running Pro Tools 11 just not 12.
__________________

Loud Noises Production Recording Studio
www.loudnoisesproduction.co.uk
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2019, 01:16 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: Omni power light always orange

One of my OMNIs has this exact issue. Firmware updates and hardware tests work, but the mute button doesn't toggle when pressed, nor do any other functions. The whole thing freezes.

The only "fix" is to smack it from the bottom and it knocks something into place and then it works properly. Could that be what's happening with you, too?
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2019, 03:12 PM
crazy_ow crazy_ow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
Default Re: Omni power light always orange

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Young View Post
One of my OMNIs has this exact issue. Firmware updates and hardware tests work, but the mute button doesn't toggle when pressed, nor do any other functions. The whole thing freezes.

The only "fix" is to smack it from the bottom and it knocks something into place and then it works properly. Could that be what's happening with you, too?
I doubt it as it works fine with PT11.
__________________

Loud Noises Production Recording Studio
www.loudnoisesproduction.co.uk
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2019, 09:00 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 958
Default Re: Omni power light always orange

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy_ow View Post
I've upgraded from 11 HD to 12.5 HD this week and everything is working great except the power light on my Omni. For some reason doesn't turn green when it's connected to Pro Tools anymore?

I'm running a Avid Omni and HD Native card in a 2010 PowerMac, I'm on Pro Tools 12.5 on OSX 10.11.6 and have checked the Omni with Digitest to make sure the firmware is up to date.

Everything works fine the light just doesn't turn green. I did try and do a firmware update of the same firmware with the HD driver but half way through it crashed and the omni stopped working. To get it working again I had to go back to my old Pro Tools 11 HD drive and run digitest from the HD 11 driver to install the firmware again.

Has anyone else had this issue and have any ideas on how to fix it? The light goes green when I'm running Pro Tools 11 just not 12.
To clarify it runs the PT sessions fine in 12.5 but the light does not change from orange to green but functions totally other than the light color ?

That is weird
When I upgraded from PTHD 11.3 to 12.4 I installed the 12.4 driver and the light would change to green and still does in 2018.12 .
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Apple 1TB HDD and PT sessions storage on Apple 2TB HDD--


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD I/O Interphase Light stays orange a-muse Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 05-16-2017 03:52 PM
3rd 192 not recognised, light not changing from orange to green. Lunny_Senior Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-07-2017 09:45 PM
QUICK QUESTION- ORANGE 24bit light on 002r CliveThomasMusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-22-2010 12:41 PM
green-orange light songman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-15-2010 05:16 AM
Power Indicator Light on MBox 2 Pro - Orange or Green? Alan Brownstein 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-07-2007 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com