Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2018, 05:11 PM
jescoelvis jescoelvis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 4
Default Activate Perpetual "box" ordered, but online NOW

Just paid for Perpetual license for Pro Tools online, and ordered it as in a "box", which I guess means they send a little box with a card in it and a code on the card. Figured seeing EVERYTHING regarding getting PT going is done online that this activation code would be somewhere in my account, but, no-can-find...any tips? Or, after spending 600 bucks do I literally have to wait for a piece of paper to come in the mail to authorize and register Pro Tools? Argh.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2018, 06:07 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,944
Default Activate Perpetual "box" ordered, but online NOW

Quote:
Originally Posted by jescoelvis View Post
Just paid for Perpetual license for Pro Tools online, and ordered it as in a "box", which I guess means they send a little box with a card in it and a code on the card. Figured seeing EVERYTHING regarding getting PT going is done online that this activation code would be somewhere in my account, but, no-can-find...any tips? Or, after spending 600 bucks do I literally have to wait for a piece of paper to come in the mail to authorize and register Pro Tools? Argh.

Why the Avid store only has, or at least seems to only have, the boxed version is beyond me. And their Pro Tools install documentation about this is pretty awful... confusing about how you will get an activation key. So if they will deposit licenses in your account as well or not I don’t know.

More a warning for others, better purchase options in the USA are to buy through folks like Sweetwater, not only can you clearly order download only versions but they have live sales reps who are easy to reach if you have questions/need help.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2018, 10:02 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,208
Default Re: Activate Perpetual "box" ordered, but online NOW

We have traditionally only sold new boxed copies since an iLok USB key was included (required). Since the iLok is now optional I believe we are working on a downloadable option for new purchases. Sorry this wasn't available yet!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2019, 04:44 AM
gabesworld gabesworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Activate Perpetual "box" ordered, but online NOW

I know this thread is old, but is there still no other way to use the PT software immediately? I just bought a perpetual license (boxed) today. Do i have to wait until it arrives in the mail to use Protools 2018.12? The license hasn't showed up my iLok account nor is there anything in my products or subscription section of my avid account.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2019, 01:56 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,944
Default Re: Activate Perpetual "box" ordered, but online NOW

Seems sweetwater has it, you can always just call them and check.

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...cense-download
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2019, 11:04 PM
gabesworld gabesworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Activate Perpetual "box" ordered, but online NOW

yea i messed up. This is the route I should've gone. Now i have to wait for the box to be shipped...sheesh Thanks for the reply.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2019, 11:48 AM
RELAV RELAV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Activate Perpetual "box" ordered, but online NOW

Wish I would have found this thread before ordering a perpetual license... It should at least state up front that you will NOT be able to download, although I don't see any reason why that should be the case.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2019, 11:19 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,208
Default Re: Activate Perpetual "box" ordered, but online NOW

Quote:
Originally Posted by RELAV View Post
Wish I would have found this thread before ordering a perpetual license... It should at least state up front that you will NOT be able to download, although I don't see any reason why that should be the case.
Started a support case for this, pls check your email...
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"free trial" of Classic Compressors expires as soon as I try to activate it? jscomposer AAX Plug-ins 3 06-30-2016 05:20 PM
PT12.4 : Can't activate "Pro" plugs in, Space, Revibe & Rev One Studio O'Bahamas Lyon Pro Tools 12 5 01-11-2016 03:23 AM
"The licensing service required to activate this software is not running." connorhawke Pro Tools 11 3 08-04-2013 04:41 PM
"waiting for note" or "online" DMiddlezz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-19-2010 11:31 AM
What's the difference between "online" and "offline" editing ? stuu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-21-2002 03:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com