Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-18-2018, 06:19 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,310
Default Re: VCA’s conversation starter

VCAs let you control an entire mix by riding just eight faders on a control surface.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-21-2018, 06:08 PM
Bryancole412 Bryancole412 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 37
Default Re: VCA’s conversation starter

Thanks so much for the explanation! I do use a control surface, so I may need to incorporate this into my daily workflow. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-21-2018, 07:17 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,995
Default Re: VCA’s conversation starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
...

One last thing: PT faders are post-insert. Riding a bus fader is post-insert. But riding a VCA fader into a bus gives you a rare opportunity to mix pre-insert. Very useful for more advanced dynamics processing.

I had never thought of this. Can you elaborate a bit on how you would use that? Thanks.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-23-2018, 01:25 PM
Jedisteph's Avatar
Jedisteph Jedisteph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12
Default Re: VCA’s conversation starter

Once worked with a mixer who only used vca's to mix. So all the foley tracks had the same fader automation, even when asked to adjust one sound he would use the vca. Find that to be lazy mixing.

Also it is only fader automation, I need eq with fader to mix.

Stephan
www.scarrier.ca
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0140415/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1
__________________
Stephan Carrier
http://www.imdb.me/scarrier
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-27-2018, 08:15 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,064
Default Re: VCA’s conversation starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
I had never thought of this. Can you elaborate a bit on how you would use that? Thanks.
I mixed a TV series where a compressed dialog sound was part of the style of the show. But when actors would talk softly or whisper, I'd raise their level as needed, but they would be more dynamic overall, since I was raising their level post compressor insert. At the time, I didn't have bus compressors on my dialog stem, so the only way to make this work was to raise the level and lower the compressor threshold. I've love to have a moveable flag on the insert chain on a track in Pro Tools that indicates where the fader is, so you can place it where you want it. I've subsequently upgraded my template to include some compression on the dialog bus as needed. But I do this with a light touch.

Quote:
Once worked with a mixer who only used vca's to mix. So all the foley tracks had the same fader automation, even when asked to adjust one sound he would use the vca. Find that to be lazy mixing.
The modern workflow in that situation is to spill that VCA and then ride the individual fader. But if there's only one sound playing, using the VCA without spilling is a totally legit way to mix.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-27-2018, 11:30 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,995
Default Re: VCA’s conversation starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
I mixed a TV series where a compressed dialog sound was part of the style of the show. But when actors would talk softly or whisper, I'd raise their level as needed, but they would be more dynamic overall, since I was raising their level post compressor insert. At the time, I didn't have bus compressors on my dialog stem, so the only way to make this work was to raise the level and lower the compressor threshold. I've love to have a moveable flag on the insert chain on a track in Pro Tools that indicates where the fader is, so you can place it where you want it. I've subsequently upgraded my template to include some compression on the dialog bus as needed. But I do this with a light touch.

Okay. Thanks for explanation. I get what you mean now.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone remove background noise from recorded voice conversation? devsel General Discussion 3 05-20-2014 04:34 AM
win 7 starter tommikks 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 01-25-2012 09:41 PM
How to EQ a recorded Phone Conversation cksbcville 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-11-2009 02:23 AM
Recording a Telephone Conversation TIMEKEEPER 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-10-2005 05:43 AM
Recording a telephone conversation John Link General Discussion 17 01-21-2003 02:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com