Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-02-2018, 03:08 AM
frenchman frenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 506
Default Re: "Pre-Echo" Offline bounce problem

Helloooooo anybody out there ?
Seems to me this a major issue since it basically made an vital function of Pro Tools (Bounce in offline mode) unreliable, thus unfit for pro work. I cannot take the risk of bouncing anything offline since it is sometimes difficult to assess if the problem has taken place or not
And I think that I have demonstrated without any reasonable doubt that this issue has to do with some flaw in Pro Tools
I hope this will be solved soon !

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchman View Post
Hi,
I have juste reported in "Idea scale" a problem when bouncing offline, in certain configurations the reverb precedes the source and this is a total disaster.
I though everyone should be warned : I have produced a couple of masters that way and am very angry at discovering this, since in certain mixes you won't hear this right away in the middle of everything
Below you will find a image that shows my test session so that you can eventually reproduce this

Pro Tools 2018-3, mac ox 10,12,6, Six core 3,5GHz Mac Pro

I have devised a test sessions with :
-One mono source track with a short pulse, with bus 2 send on it
-A reverb return on aux track with a D-Verb plugin
- A stereo dummy audio track with a plugin that produces a fair amount of processing delay (for convenience I used Avid's RT Flanger but it will do the same with others)
Offline bounce import track clearly shows that something is wrong, whilst real time bounce is ok

I hope this is going to get fixed FAST
Thanks for listening
Mark Haliday
Paris, France

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1D_...z1-_MDLuFecIRO
__________________
Mark Haliday
Engineer, Producer
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-02-2018, 05:41 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 151
Default Re: "Pre-Echo" Offline bounce problem

I've experienced something similar on HDX, but the other way around;

When using a master fader with a plugin on a subpath (e.g. to eq the center channel of a 5.1 bus), the center channel is only properly compensated when offline bouncing, not when realtime bouncing.
Full path width masters faders are ok, sub paths are not.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-02-2018, 08:26 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: "Pre-Echo" Offline bounce problem

There is another thread re: delay compensation in offline bounce here

What is your bounce source? Physical output or Bus?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-02-2018, 02:53 PM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 121
Default Re: "Pre-Echo" Offline bounce problem

No problem here, so far. Online and offline.


Cheers
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2018.12, OMNI, SYNC HD, S3, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 24GB, OSX 10.12.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D v.10.9.10
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-03-2018, 08:49 AM
Gemstar Gemstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Gaithersburg, USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: "Pre-Echo" Offline bounce problem

I am a HDX user and have had the exact same offline bounce issues. I'm surprised there haven't been more posts on this issue. I've had them ever since the release of PT 2018. Avid please help!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-27-2018, 09:19 PM
reflexson reflexson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 35
Default Re: "Pre-Echo" Offline bounce problem

Bump. This really sucks. Possibly the worst bug ever. Guess Im headed back to 12.4. Really glad Ive been maintaining my 2 hd subscriptions.

Pretty sure this is HDX only.
__________________
Paul Cox
www.226recordings.com
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-25-2018, 08:29 AM
frenchman frenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 506
Default Re: "Pre-Echo" Offline bounce problem

Bumping this problem because this is getting very irritating that nothing has been done to correct this bug.
Offline bouncing is a productivity godsend. When mixing somebody's complicated project when that person is physically at the other end of the world, being able to send 6 or 7 version of mixes in a day for two or three 5' long tracks, it makes a HUGE difference when using offline bouncing.
Hours lost here because of this stupid bug

Please Avid solve this, thank you
__________________
Mark Haliday
Engineer, Producer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Bounce To Disk" Track is "Lower in Volume" LSNY Pro Tools 12 18 06-05-2017 08:45 PM
"Unable to bounce offline" fcamardella Pro Tools 12 6 11-25-2016 04:36 PM
offline bounce from Send or Track outputs - track "freeze feature" OliverH Pro Tools 11 20 05-25-2014 04:45 PM
"bounce to disk" stutter problem calden Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 07-06-2003 04:42 PM
What's the difference between "online" and "offline" editing ? stuu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-21-2002 03:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com