Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2014, 02:33 AM
7thheaven 7thheaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Schaumburg, IL USA
Posts: 107
Default 2014 MacPro not working right with PT 10.3.8

I just installed PT 10.3.8 on a brand new 2014 MacPro and the audio out will not work with my headphone out jacks. I tried for over a hour to work thru the audio/MIDI set up and not working. In the Audio Devices the Pro Tools Aggregate has the Built In-Line Output selected, which is correct. All audio on the computer is playing properly thru the Line Out soundsticks EXCEPT Pro Tools. I have no I/O box, as this version is just for quick edits for TV Commercials, so no mixing. All I get is the audio thru the Thunderbolt Display's speakers. I select a few different options for audio out and nothing changes in anyway, the audio just keeps coming thru the display speakers. I want it to see the LineOut on the MacPro. Any suggestions?
__________________
Richie- 7th heaven
www.7thheavenband.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2014, 05:14 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,164
Default Re: 2014 MacPro not working right with PT 10.3.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7thheaven View Post
I just installed PT 10.3.8 on a brand new 2014 MacPro and the audio out will not work with my headphone out jacks. I tried for over a hour to work thru the audio/MIDI set up and not working. In the Audio Devices the Pro Tools Aggregate has the Built In-Line Output selected, which is correct. All audio on the computer is playing properly thru the Line Out soundsticks EXCEPT Pro Tools. I have no I/O box, as this version is just for quick edits for TV Commercials, so no mixing. All I get is the audio thru the Thunderbolt Display's speakers. I select a few different options for audio out and nothing changes in anyway, the audio just keeps coming thru the display speakers. I want it to see the LineOut on the MacPro. Any suggestions?
You do know Avid hasn't approved PT10 any version for Mavericks right? You're really going to need to get a true sound I/O device; the headphone out even if you get it to work doesn't have enough oomph to drive most good headphones.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2014, 07:42 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: 2014 MacPro not working right with PT 10.3.8

You mention Protools Aggregate. There is no reason to set up anything with that. You should be able to just select Built In output. You may want to delete the selections for Protools Aggregate. Aggregate is only if you want to use the built in outputs in addition to another audio interface, which is not what you're trying to do here. It will just confuse things.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2014, 11:59 AM
7thheaven 7thheaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Schaumburg, IL USA
Posts: 107
Default Re: 2014 MacPro not working right with PT 10.3.8

I actually had this working fine on my other MacPro (2012) with everything the same. The new 2014 MacPro is not working correctly with the soundsticks, plugged thru the line out and Pro Tools.. It's like the audio out in Pro Tools doesn't want to work with the Audio/MIDI setup.. I wasn't sure if anyone else had this issue. Anyone know where and how to trash the audio prefs now, I can try that.
__________________
Richie- 7th heaven
www.7thheavenband.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2014, 12:22 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,634
Default Re: 2014 MacPro not working right with PT 10.3.8

Hey

Try this as the preferences and databases etc will trash most of the stuff and see if that helps anything

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...nd_Preferences

Best of luck
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2014, 12:39 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,164
Default Re: 2014 MacPro not working right with PT 10.3.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7thheaven View Post
I actually had this working fine on my other MacPro (2012) with everything the same. The new 2014 MacPro is not working correctly with the soundsticks, plugged thru the line out and Pro Tools.. It's like the audio out in Pro Tools doesn't want to work with the Audio/MIDI setup.. I wasn't sure if anyone else had this issue. Anyone know where and how to trash the audio prefs now, I can try that.
What are soundsticks? Never heard of them/it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-04-2014, 05:29 PM
7thheaven 7thheaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Schaumburg, IL USA
Posts: 107
Default Re: 2014 MacPro not working right with PT 10.3.8

This solved my problem and it works now, Thank You VERY much.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...nd_Preferences

....

as for what are soundsticks, they are great basic speakers I use on my video/graphic system... I have 5 different pro tools systems.. my main in the studio is a HD3 loaded and with 3 sets of speakers, AX7, NS10's, BlueSky's..
the one I was discussing on this thread is thru a soundstick.. while a great speaker for basic use, I do not recommend these for mixing purposes as they are far from being accurate with tones, but as a basic speaker for a basic computer, they are fine. -

http://store.apple.com/us/product/H2...1eaa27433467b9
__________________
Richie- 7th heaven
www.7thheavenband.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2014, 07:15 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,634
Default Re: 2014 MacPro not working right with PT 10.3.8

You are very welcome

Glad I could help and even more glad you are up and running again


Best Regards and Have a Nice Weekend

Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid at NAB 2014 Bruce Paine General Announcements 1 05-15-2014 10:04 AM
New 2014 Mac Pro with HDX JohnnyFiction Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 15 02-04-2014 06:45 PM
Using carbon copy to move from macpro to a newer Macpro fourthtunz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-10-2012 02:39 PM
GOT IT WORKING! new icore5 MacPro with 10.6.3 & Mbox2 Mini tallguy55 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-06-2010 08:16 AM
003+Macpro OS 10.9 working... marchhare 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-07-2007 11:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com