Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2017, 08:32 AM
grg1540 grg1540 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 5
Default Hardware Latency/Delay Compensation

Hey All,
When I route 1 audio track to my compressor so I can simply print it on a new audio track, I am experiencing some latency.
What the quickest most precise way of getting the new audio track exactly aligned with the original in the session? PT 10.
Yes I have searched online but looking for more info.
Thnx


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2017, 12:01 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: Hardware Latency/Delay Compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by grg1540 View Post
Hey All,
When I route 1 audio track to my compressor so I can simply print it on a new audio track, I am experiencing some latency.
What the quickest most precise way of getting the new audio track exactly aligned with the original in the session? PT 10.
Yes I have searched online but looking for more info.
Thnx


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You need to use Hardware Inserts so the delay can be compensated for. With HD and a Digilink I/O this happens automatically, with regular PT you need calculate and enter the delay in the I/O setup window.

Start by searching the manual for Hardware Inserts.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2017, 03:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,630
Default Re: Hardware Latency/Delay Compensation

That^^^, or record the processed audio to a new track and nudge it into alignment with the original track(show samples and SPOT the new audio according to a common transient). Advantage of a compensated input(as Drew mentions); Delay Compensation lines everything up fine(but off-line bounce is not possible). Advantage of recording and nudging; the processed audio is permanently added to the session, and once that's done, off-line bounce works
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2018, 09:50 AM
thigohdx thigohdx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Brazil
Posts: 8
Default Re: Hardware Latency/Delay Compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
You need to use Hardware Inserts so the delay can be compensated for. With HD and a Digilink I/O this happens automatically, with regular PT you need calculate and enter the delay in the I/O setup window.

Start by searching the manual for Hardware Inserts.
Hi there!!! What you’re saying is that with HDX/HD we dont need to calculate it? Any outboard?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2018, 03:12 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: Hardware Latency/Delay Compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by thigohdx View Post
Hi there!!! What you’re saying is that with HDX/HD we dont need to calculate it? Any outboard?
Thanks
HD/HDX with a Digilink interface.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2018, 03:44 PM
thigohdx thigohdx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Brazil
Posts: 8
Default Re: Hardware Latency/Delay Compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
HD/HDX with a Digilink interface.
I have two digilink and two avid... Are the avid HD the same? Best!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2018, 03:19 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: Hardware Latency/Delay Compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by thigohdx View Post
I have two digilink and two avid... Are the avid HD the same? Best!!!
So long as PT knows the box, you're good.

Which ones are they?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Analog Latency and Delay Compensation wedge Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 9 12-23-2011 12:15 PM
Latency, Delay compensation, Nudging Sergius 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 08-28-2010 03:09 PM
Sample Latency and Delay Compensation RxdB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-01-2009 09:25 PM
LATENCY and DELAY COMPENSATION detroitkruk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-21-2006 11:36 PM
Latency/Delay Compensation and Rosetta 200 Ken K 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 10-20-2005 03:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com